Inventor General

Reply
*Conneally, Nick
Message 1 of 10 (73 Views)

Word Links

73 Views, 9 Replies
11-25-2002 03:21 AM
I'm putting together an operators manual, and would like to incorporate
linked objects from Word to Inventor for illustrations. What would be the
best path to creating the link? Should I export to MD6 than link from Word
to MD6. I tried this & ran into some errors.

Thanks in advance

Nick
*Dotson, Sean
Message 2 of 10 (73 Views)

Re: Word Links

11-25-2002 03:38 AM in reply to: *Conneally, Nick
You mean the hyperlink in Word would open the Inventor file? If so then
just select the IV file as the source for the hyperlink. You'll need to
have the project preset however.

If this is not what you meant...what exactly DO you mean ?

--
Sean Dotson, PE
http://www.sdotson.com
...sleep is for the weak..
-----------------------------------------
"Nick Conneally" wrote in message
news:816610A22279E993CE127D9DDBA4A563@in.WebX.maYIadrTaRb...
> I'm putting together an operators manual, and would like to incorporate
> linked objects from Word to Inventor for illustrations. What would be the
> best path to creating the link? Should I export to MD6 than link from
Word
> to MD6. I tried this & ran into some errors.
>
> Thanks in advance
>
> Nick
>
>
*Conneally, Nick
Message 3 of 10 (73 Views)

Re:

11-25-2002 03:58 AM in reply to: *Conneally, Nick
No, I'm not claiming the hyperlink would open the file - just looking for
the best way to use Inventor drawing files in Word for this manual. It
would be great to have a link- but so far I'm not sure how. I tried with
Insert - Object, no success (oh yeah, it links, but the link just opens the
Inventor file, nothing appears in Word but the hyperlink itself). Word
does give the options to insert an ACAD file, however no link would be
present.

Nick
"Sean Dotson" wrote in message
news:4075390C2ED7027322E329CB7146995C@in.WebX.maYIadrTaRb...
> You mean the hyperlink in Word would open the Inventor file? If so then
> just select the IV file as the source for the hyperlink. You'll need to
> have the project preset however.
>
> If this is not what you meant...what exactly DO you mean ?
>
> --
> Sean Dotson, PE
> http://www.sdotson.com
> ...sleep is for the weak..
> -----------------------------------------
> "Nick Conneally" wrote in message
> news:816610A22279E993CE127D9DDBA4A563@in.WebX.maYIadrTaRb...
> > I'm putting together an operators manual, and would like to incorporate
> > linked objects from Word to Inventor for illustrations. What would be
the
> > best path to creating the link? Should I export to MD6 than link from
> Word
> > to MD6. I tried this & ran into some errors.
> >
> > Thanks in advance
> >
> > Nick
> >
> >
>
>
Distinguished Contributor
rllthomas
Posts: 2,068
Registered: ‎12-10-2003
Message 4 of 10 (73 Views)

Re:

11-25-2002 04:04 AM in reply to: *Conneally, Nick
Everyone has their own opinions so take this for what it is worth. Our Tech. Writers feel that wireframe makes the most reproducible documents, they can be easily faxed etc. where shaded views don't come across so well. They create the views they want in Inventor and DXF out, then open them up in Autocad. I believe they then use wmf out from AutoCAD to put things in their Adobe software (Pagemaker I think, I don't recall for sure). I don't know why wmf was working better for them than inserting the DXF files, perhaps Adobe didn't have that option. - Rich
Distinguished Contributor
JohnPonikvar
Posts: 108
Registered: ‎11-18-2003
Message 5 of 10 (73 Views)

Re:

11-25-2002 05:47 AM in reply to: *Conneally, Nick
IV --> Acad --> WMF --> MSWord.

This is the way we do it for user manuals. Quite the pain, but best results. WMF format is a little more robust, kind of like a seudo vector graphic bit-map, akin to "rich text format" in the text and document world.

IV --> BMP --> MSWord.

Not happy with the resolution of end result. Otherwise works fine and quicker. Linking vrs embeding is flaky though. Don't know why and it dosen't help anyway if you expect the DOC to update with changes from IV. Output BMP is a new BMP file (not edited) which breaks the link.

Print to PDF for other purposes.



Why doesn't IV produce Jpg??

Liscencing choke?



jp
*Dotson, Sean
Message 6 of 10 (73 Views)

Re:

11-25-2002 06:03 AM in reply to: *Conneally, Nick
Why doesn't IV
produce Jpg??


 


 

Save to JPEG near bottom of screen


--
Sean Dotson, PE

href="http://www.sdotson.com">http://www.sdotson.com

...sleep is for the
weak..
-----------------------------------------


style="PADDING-RIGHT: 0px; PADDING-LEFT: 5px; MARGIN-LEFT: 5px; BORDER-LEFT: #000000 2px solid; MARGIN-RIGHT: 0px">
IV
--> Acad --> WMF --> MSWord.
This is the way we do it for user
manuals. Quite the pain, but best results. WMF format is a little more robust,
kind of like a seudo vector graphic bit-map, akin to "rich text format" in the
text and document world.
IV --> BMP --> MSWord.
Not happy with the
resolution of end result. Otherwise works fine and quicker. Linking vrs
embeding is flaky though. Don't know why and it dosen't help anyway if you
expect the DOC to update with changes from IV. Output BMP is a new BMP file
(not edited) which breaks the link.
Print to PDF for other
purposes.

Why doesn't IV produce Jpg??
Liscencing
choke?

jp
Distinguished Contributor
rllthomas
Posts: 2,068
Registered: ‎12-10-2003
Message 7 of 10 (73 Views)

Re:

11-25-2002 08:03 AM in reply to: *Conneally, Nick
I don't know about Office XP but as near as I can tell the Office 2000 products expand a jpeg out so it takes up as much space as a BMP when you embed it. In other words if you take a 20 mb bmp and make a small jpeg in embed it in a powerpoint, word doc etc. you will get a 20 meg file. - Rich
Active Member
rasmussen.egon
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎12-31-2002
Message 8 of 10 (73 Views)

Re:

11-25-2002 03:07 PM in reply to: *Conneally, Nick
Hi There

We do have a little program producing .jpg directly from IV.
Pick 2 point (diagonal) and thats your .jpg file.


Egon Rasmussen
SikaMatec
*Dotson, Sean
Message 9 of 10 (73 Views)

Re:

11-25-2002 09:38 PM in reply to: *Conneally, Nick
There was a thread a while back named "Print
Screen".  Glenn and I did an experiment...

 


JPEG Size: 245
BMP Size: 3841
GIF Size: 299

BMP Pasted into Word: 4,189
BMP Inserted in Word: 173

JPEG Pasted into Word: 5,335
JPEG Inserted in Word: 266

GIF Pasted into Word:1,846
GIF Inserted in Word: 292


 



--
Sean Dotson, PE

href="http://www.sdotson.com">http://www.sdotson.com

...sleep is for the
weak..
-----------------------------------------


style="PADDING-RIGHT: 0px; PADDING-LEFT: 5px; MARGIN-LEFT: 5px; BORDER-LEFT: #000000 2px solid; MARGIN-RIGHT: 0px">
I
don't know about Office XP but as near as I can tell the Office 2000 products
expand a jpeg out so it takes up as much space as a BMP when you embed it. In
other words if you take a 20 mb bmp and make a small jpeg in embed it in a
powerpoint, word doc etc. you will get a 20 meg file. -
Rich
Distinguished Contributor
rllthomas
Posts: 2,068
Registered: ‎12-10-2003
Message 10 of 10 (73 Views)

Re:

11-25-2002 11:48 PM in reply to: *Conneally, Nick
Now that is interesting. I tried it myself, the inserted bmp is actually smaller than the inserted jpg. In fact a 20 mb bmp inserted produced a 204 kb file and NO it isn't linked. Thanks for the tip - Rich Thomas

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

Ask the Community


Inventor Exchange Apps

Created by the community for the community, Autodesk Exchange Apps for Autodesk Inventor helps you achieve greater speed, accuracy, and automation from concept to manufacturing.

Connect with Inventor

Twitter

Facebook

Blogs

Pinterest

Youtube