Community
Inventor Forum
Welcome to Autodesk’s Inventor Forums. Share your knowledge, ask questions, and explore popular Inventor topics.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Wiring and cable assembly / drawing

7 REPLIES 7
Message 1 of 8
Anonymous
2938 Views, 7 Replies

Wiring and cable assembly / drawing

I've been creating documentation for cable assembly for many years now and I am trying to determine a way to use the Inventor Cable and Harness feature to accomplish the same detailed drawings as I previously made by hand.  The first thing I notice is that the connectors do not exist at the cable level, even though this is how they will be manufactured.  Is there any way to generate a cable with wiring and connectors all existing together in an assembly that can then be documented in a drawing?

7 REPLIES 7
Message 2 of 8
Anonymous
in reply to: Anonymous

Hello,

Meaby I do not understand your needs but...

In an existing assembly (or new assembly...), put your connectors and then click on wire& hardness. Make your harness by linking the connectors with wires/cable... Then exit wire&harness add-on.

Now you can make a drawing of the assembly...

Regards,

John.

Message 3 of 8
Anonymous

John, I don't believe this would let me lay the cable out flat in the drawing though, would it?  The only option for showing the full assembly is "in position", right?  I was hoping that there was a way of showing the nailboard (?) view with connectors attached.

Message 4 of 8
Anonymous

I do not  right undestood you would like to make a drawing of your harness only (nailboard) and not of your harness in position into your system.

To make a nailboard drawing then :

In your assembly, double-click to edit your harness.

then click on the nailboard icon and select your template for the drawing.

Now you are in a special menu for nailborad drawing... I'm not an user of  the nailboard function but I now it's probably what you're looking for.