Inventor General

Reply
Contributor
DMRichardson
Posts: 19
Registered: ‎04-23-2010
Message 1 of 8 (474 Views)
Accepted Solution

Why does ctrl not work?

474 Views, 7 Replies
10-11-2012 03:17 AM

Hello,

 

I've not been able to use Ctrl in 2013 (not a problem with any other version).  i've looked at the key mapping, but it's all ok. i've tried that button that fixes the single key shortcuts, that's fine, but no help for my Ctrl.  Any views? maybe it's a windows issue?

 

Thanks.

 

David Richardson

Regards
David Richardson
*Expert Elite*
Mark_Wigan
Posts: 437
Registered: ‎03-07-2006
Message 2 of 8 (466 Views)

Re: Why does ctrl not work?

10-11-2012 05:01 AM in reply to: DMRichardson

hi,

 

assuming it works with other apps,

 

does it work in combination with any other command inside inventor eg during copy or paste or is it just when over-riding automatic contraints etc?

best regards,
- Mark

PDSU 2014 Windows 7, 64bit. (please consider Kudos or Tag as Solved if your issue is sorted)

Contributor
DMRichardson
Posts: 19
Registered: ‎04-23-2010
Message 3 of 8 (462 Views)

Re: Why does ctrl not work?

10-11-2012 05:29 AM in reply to: Mark_Wigan

Hello Mark,

 

it seams to be any comand with the ctrl and another key,

 

eg ctrl z

ctrl n

ctrl c

 

also slice graphics F7 doesn't work, so i guess i could find more not working in the future. Like i say though, i tried resetting keyboard mapping to no avail.  All the letter shortcuts work (S for scetch)

 

i've been able to workaround all the problems so far...

 

Thanks

David

Regards
David Richardson
*Expert Elite*
Mark_Wigan
Posts: 437
Registered: ‎03-07-2006
Message 4 of 8 (454 Views)

Re: Why does ctrl not work?

10-11-2012 05:57 AM in reply to: DMRichardson

i haven't heard of this but i haven't looked for it either.

 

without looking into this i wonder if it could be something like an input device setting that has been configured to recognise a gaming environment, and as such uses defaults other than what you require?

 

if you are running a high tech mouse or keyboard maybe try going through some settings to see if it has some keu board overides that can be changed?

 

i recall that in days past for example, you could tell the logitech mouse to sense when it was in a game environment and whether to keep its operating system settings or whether to switch to alternative settings that were able to be defined by the user. if you did not click the option, then the mouse cursor would move extremely slow when inside inventor!

 

sorry for the guess, i know it is a long shot.

best regards,
- Mark

PDSU 2014 Windows 7, 64bit. (please consider Kudos or Tag as Solved if your issue is sorted)

Contributor
DMRichardson
Posts: 19
Registered: ‎04-23-2010
Message 5 of 8 (446 Views)

Re: Why does ctrl not work?

10-11-2012 06:35 AM in reply to: Mark_Wigan

I don't know how it has happened. but it's working again.

 

As you said, look at keyboard settings i went for a poke around the devices manager.  I have a standard mouse and a very old dell keyboard. no fancy softwear with bells whistles and tickboxes.  all i have done is open up the device driver box and closed it again but it seems to have done the trick! i have no idea why as there was nothing for me to change anyway! oh well.

 

The gods are on my side today i guess.

 

Thanks

David

Regards
David Richardson
*Expert Elite*
Mark_Wigan
Posts: 437
Registered: ‎03-07-2006
Message 6 of 8 (427 Views)

Re: Why does ctrl not work?

10-11-2012 07:47 AM in reply to: DMRichardson

!

 

you are definately on a roll

best regards,
- Mark

PDSU 2014 Windows 7, 64bit. (please consider Kudos or Tag as Solved if your issue is sorted)

Valued Contributor
cbrownAMS
Posts: 73
Registered: ‎12-13-2010
Message 7 of 8 (228 Views)

Re: Why does ctrl not work?

07-16-2013 10:14 AM in reply to: Mark_Wigan

Ever since installing Smoke 2013 I've had the ctrl key stop working on occasion. It seems to happen when leaving the screen of the software to check email or do something on a browser. When I come back to Smoke the crtl does not work. Haven't found the work around yet. I'm using a Smoke keyboard that came with our Mac purchase.

*Expert Elite*
LT.Rusty
Posts: 692
Registered: ‎10-23-2012
Message 8 of 8 (206 Views)

Re: Why does ctrl not work?

07-16-2013 02:22 PM in reply to: cbrownAMS

CTRL works for me in all of my combinations - CTRL-Z, etc. - but it does not work when I'm laying out sketch geometry and I want to keep from forming automatic constraints.  That's incredibly annoying.  It seems to only be an issue in 2013.  2014 at home seems to be working fine, and 2009-2012 seemed to all be fine as well, back when I still used those.


___________________________________________________________

Product Design Suite Ultimate 2013, 2014, 2015

Work: Dell Precision T1600 (Xeon E3-1280 / 16GB / 512 GB SSD / 250 GB (Internal) / 1 TB (External) / Quadro 600)
Home: i7-4770k / ASUS Z87-Pro / 16GB / 250 GB SSD / 1 TB HDD / 3 TB USB3 HDD / Radeon R9-270X 4GB
Laptop: Toshiba Satellite P755-S5269 (i7-2630QM / 8 GB / 250 GB SSD / 750 GB HDD / GT540M)

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

Ask the Community


Inventor Exchange Apps

Created by the community for the community, Autodesk Exchange Apps for Autodesk Inventor helps you achieve greater speed, accuracy, and automation from concept to manufacturing.

Connect with Inventor

Twitter

Facebook

Blogs

Pinterest

Youtube