Inventor General

Reply
Mentor
Posts: 389
Registered: ‎11-06-2008
Message 1 of 10 (384 Views)

Why No Fusion Ribbon Panel?

384 Views, 9 Replies
04-27-2012 10:49 AM

I was trying to show another user the Edit in Fusion feature in Inventor 2012 but she doesn't have that ribbon panel.  We went into the Part tab in Application Options and Inventor Fusion was selected to Edit Base Solids.  We even unselected it, applied it, closed the options and then selected it again.  But still there is no Fusion panel under the Model tab when editing a part.  Yes, it's installed on her machine.  We checked.

 

The only difference is that she's also installed the 2013 suite, as well.  I have the Fusion panel and have not installed any 2013 apps.

 

Bill Schmid
AutoCAD Mechanical 2011
*Expert Elite*
Posts: 25,225
Registered: ‎04-20-2006
Message 2 of 10 (377 Views)

Re: Why No Fusion Ribbon Panel?

04-27-2012 11:10 AM in reply to: Bill.Schmid

Try right clicking somewhere in the browser.

Do you get an option to edit in Fusion?

 

Edit Form.png

 

 

Fusion Addin Launcher.png

Please mark this response as "Accept as Solution" if it answers your question.
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Autodesk Inventor 2014 Certified Professional
Autodesk AutoCAD 2013 Certified Professional
Certified SolidWorks Professional
Inventor Professional 2014 Edu 64-bit
http://www.autodesk.com/edcommunity
http://home.pct.edu/~jmather/content/DSG322/inventor_surface_tutorials.htm
Mentor
Posts: 389
Registered: ‎11-06-2008
Message 3 of 10 (369 Views)

Re: Why No Fusion Ribbon Panel?

04-27-2012 11:20 AM in reply to: JDMather

No.  She cannot access the Fusion feature in any way, shape, or form (no pun intended).

 

I was thinking it was because it was a solid created from an imported surface, but I had an empty part open on my machine and at least the panel was there, it was just greyed out.

 

I had her try right-clicking in the empty area of the ribbon to make sure the panel wasn't just turned off, but the option just isn't there.

 

It's not available / doesn't show up in the Add-In Manager, either ( I missed that part of your post, initially).

Bill Schmid
AutoCAD Mechanical 2011
*Expert Elite*
Posts: 25,225
Registered: ‎04-20-2006
Message 4 of 10 (367 Views)

Re: Why No Fusion Ribbon Panel?

04-27-2012 11:24 AM in reply to: Bill.Schmid

Show a screen shot of your Add-in Manager.

Please mark this response as "Accept as Solution" if it answers your question.
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Autodesk Inventor 2014 Certified Professional
Autodesk AutoCAD 2013 Certified Professional
Certified SolidWorks Professional
Inventor Professional 2014 Edu 64-bit
http://www.autodesk.com/edcommunity
http://home.pct.edu/~jmather/content/DSG322/inventor_surface_tutorials.htm
Mentor
Posts: 389
Registered: ‎11-06-2008
Message 5 of 10 (340 Views)

Re: Why No Fusion Ribbon Panel?

04-27-2012 01:04 PM in reply to: Bill.Schmid

It looks just like what you posted except Fusion Freeform Edit Launcher is missing.

Bill Schmid
AutoCAD Mechanical 2011
*Expert Elite*
Mark_Flayler
Posts: 1,465
Registered: ‎07-30-2007
Message 6 of 10 (330 Views)

Re: Why No Fusion Ribbon Panel?

04-27-2012 02:56 PM in reply to: Bill.Schmid

Does she have Fusion 2012 or 2013 installed?  If you only have 2013 in there then it will not show up in 2012.  Fusion integration is version specific.

Mark Flayler Application Engineer - Manufacturing Solutions Division
IMAGINiT's Manufacturing Solutions Blog:
http://blogs.rand.com/manufacturing/
Mentor
Posts: 389
Registered: ‎11-06-2008
Message 7 of 10 (300 Views)

Re: Why No Fusion Ribbon Panel?

04-30-2012 03:42 AM in reply to: Mark_Flayler

She has Fusion 2012.  We checked that.

 

We did not check specifically to see if Fusion 2013 was installed, but she did do a full install on Product Design Suite Premium 2013, so it should be.

Bill Schmid
AutoCAD Mechanical 2011
Mentor
CAD-One
Posts: 694
Registered: ‎10-26-2008
Message 8 of 10 (294 Views)

Re: Why No Fusion Ribbon Panel?

04-30-2012 04:21 AM in reply to: Bill.Schmid
My colleague has this very same issue. Can't access fusion thru inventor
C1
Inventor Professional 2013
Vault Collaboration 2013
Employee
Posts: 95
Registered: ‎09-24-2008
Message 9 of 10 (285 Views)

Re: Why No Fusion Ribbon Panel?

04-30-2012 07:32 AM in reply to: CAD-One

As mentioned above, make sure that you have the same version of Fusion and Inventor (2013 for both). I have PrDS Ultimate 2013 installed and it works for me. If possible, try an uninstall then reinstall of Fusion. The add-ins install with Fusion if it detects that Inventor is installed.

 

You might also try the Inventor Fusion discussion groups too. 



Patrick Miller
Senior Content Developer
Autodesk, Inc.

Mentor
Posts: 389
Registered: ‎11-06-2008
Message 10 of 10 (282 Views)

Re: Why No Fusion Ribbon Panel?

04-30-2012 07:46 AM in reply to: patrick.miller

I think we're going to let it go.  It was a one-time occurence where she could have either edited a simple imported part in Fusion or re-modeled it.  It was faster to remodel, in this case, than to try to re-install software.  Besides, we should be switching to 2013 soon.  Thanks.

Bill Schmid
AutoCAD Mechanical 2011

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Welcome to the new Autodesk Community!
If this is your first visit, click here to get started and make the most of the Community. Let us know what you think of the new experience in the Community Feedback Forum.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

Ask the Community


Inventor Exchange Apps

Created by the community for the community, Autodesk Exchange Apps for Autodesk Inventor helps you achieve greater speed, accuracy, and automation from concept to manufacturing.

Connect with Inventor

Twitter

Facebook

Blogs

Pinterest

Youtube