Community
Inventor Forum
Welcome to Autodesk’s Inventor Forums. Share your knowledge, ask questions, and explore popular Inventor topics.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Unable to extrude sketch

11 REPLIES 11
SOLVED
Message 1 of 12
Kyle.Sullivan
5090 Views, 11 Replies

Unable to extrude sketch

I am relatively new to Inventor and I keep running into this similar issue I am hoping someone can help me with. 

Sometimes after I have created a sketch I can not extrude it, sometimes it wont let me click on the profile, other times it will only let me cut away material not add it like I would like.  I am sure it has something to do with something fundamental I am doing wrong within the sketch, but I am not sure what. 

Any help would be greatly appreciated. 

I have attatched an example of a sketch that I can not get to extrude. 

11 REPLIES 11
Message 2 of 12
JDMather
in reply to: Kyle.Sullivan

Your first sketch is not constrained or making use of obvious symmetry about the origin.

You might start by reading this

http://home.pct.edu/~jmather/skillsusa%20university.pdf

WorkPlane 3 is not needed.

WorkPlane 5 is not needed.

Other sketches are not constrained.

Sketch12 is sick (and I seldom ever use Projected Loops).  In this case I might use projected loop, but I often change any projections to construction and then trace overtop.  Then if something goes sick it is easier to fix. (and I know the geometry I create will actually work)

...also install Service Pack 1

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Autodesk Inventor 2019 Certified Professional
Autodesk AutoCAD 2013 Certified Professional
Certified SolidWorks Professional

Message 3 of 12
Kyle.Sullivan
in reply to: JDMather