Community
Inventor Forum
Welcome to Autodesk’s Inventor Forums. Share your knowledge, ask questions, and explore popular Inventor topics.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

True Involute gears

6 REPLIES 6
Message 1 of 7
WattsUp314
1307 Views, 6 Replies

True Involute gears

I need to model various involute gears in Inventor. They will be laser cut thus have to be exact. I don't want to use Design Accelerator. The gears are metric, module 6mm. Attached is what I have tried. It doesn't look right to me but it might be. Also, I need to model an internal involute gear. I have little knowledge about gears but know Inventor (6 years experience).

Questions:

How to model exact/true involute gears?

How to model exact/true internal involute gears?

6 REPLIES 6
Message 2 of 7
graemev
in reply to: WattsUp314

They are imperial, not metric module, but you can use 'em as you please.  They are kind of by "the brute force method" as I don't quite have the knack for using equation curves, but should be accurate enough for your purposes.  It may be possible to "break" the model at extreme ends of the size spectrum - no guarantees of usability expressed or implied.  Smiley Wink

For each part, open up the parameters and scroll down to the User Parameters section.  (Or just collapse the Model Parameters section.)  All the gear data can be seen there with common gear nomenclature for imperial gear parameters.  I would recommend unchecking the Immediate Update box prior to making changes, but at most you should only get an update error pop-up if it loses its mind.

I have used these files for generating 3D printed gear sets.  Though that is decidedly not the most rigorous test of their accuracy, they do work well.

Message 3 of 7
CAG_DRAFT
in reply to: graemev

can the laser cutters you use achieve a finish fine-enough to use without further finishing work?
How much will the finishing work change the tooth profile?
Message 4 of 7
WattsUp314