Community
Inventor Forum
Welcome to Autodesk’s Inventor Forums. Share your knowledge, ask questions, and explore popular Inventor topics.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

The best way to insert one tube in another tube which has holes

12 REPLIES 12
SOLVED
Message 1 of 13
oransen
1674 Views, 12 Replies

The best way to insert one tube in another tube which has holes

I'm a programmer, not a mech eng. so bear with me...

If I have a "large" tube with a series of holes along it, say 9mm diameter...

I have another component (an 8.9mm solid cylinder) which should be inserted in those holes...

...how is the best way of doing it?

I thought about adding a work axis in each hole, but can't find an easy way of doing even that!

So how would you do it?

If I make a hole in a rectangular block it all works out, the toroid appears and I constrain the small 8.9mm to the axis of the hole in the block.

That does not seem to work with holes in the large tube.

Tags (1)
12 REPLIES 12
Message 2 of 13
Nicolas.Bourquin
in reply to: oransen

Dear Oransen,

depending on the geometry of your 3D models, you don't necessary need to add an extra axis in all the holes.

In order to provide you a good solution corresponding to what you are expecting, that could be very helpful if you could have the possibility to attache directly here the assembly and its components.

Many Thanks

Best Regards

Nicolas Bourquin
Message 3 of 13
JDMather

@oransen wrote:

If I have a "large" tube with a series of holes along it, say 9mm diameter...

In the large tube part click Work Point and then right click and select Axis.

Select the hole cylindrical face and then the tube face.

I would pattern the holes using Rectangular Pattern (even if not rectangular as long as it is in fact some regular pattern) http://home.pct.edu/~jmather/SkillsUSA%20University.pdf  place and constrain one component in assembly and then use Pattern Component.