Inventor General

Reply
New Member
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎06-13-2012
Message 1 of 5 (407 Views)
Accepted Solution

Subassembly positions and flexible constraints

407 Views, 4 Replies
06-13-2012 07:19 AM

I have a sub assembly consisting of several components.  I enabled flexibility to position the subcomponents in the main assembly how I wanted them.  However when i double click or "open" the sub assembly the positions of the components revert back to their original state.

 

The assembly is a lubrication system, and the reason i need the final positions updated in the original sub assembly is so that i can run hoses in the sub assembly, keeping the hoses out of the BOM for the main assembly.

 

Any and all help is appreciated (to include "you're doing it wrong")

 

thanks

*Expert Elite*
mcgyvr
Posts: 6,385
Registered: ‎12-01-2004
Message 2 of 5 (401 Views)

Re: Subassembly positions and flexible constraints

06-13-2012 08:37 AM in reply to: tyler.a

I think this works...(not sure if tube/pipe routes can be demoted but)

If I were to do it I would place all the parts into the top level sub, add my hoses then select all the parts that should be in the sub, right click and select..component.. "demote". That will move all those parts into their own subassembly..

 

Did you find this reply helpful ? If so please use the Accept as Solution or Kudos button below.

Down with IDW/DWG files..... Long live 3D PMI... Hurry it up already..
-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
2014 Product Design Suite Ultimate
Windows 7 64 bit
Core i7 4820k processor (OC'd to 4.4Ghz), Nvidia GTX 770, 16G RAM


*Pro
sbixler
Posts: 1,844
Registered: ‎09-15-2003
Message 3 of 5 (372 Views)

Re: Subassembly positions and flexible constraints

06-14-2012 03:50 AM in reply to: tyler.a

This might also be a good application for making the subassembly adaptive rather than flexible.  This will only work if this is the only assembly in which this subassembly is used, because an assembly can only be adaptive to one instance.  But the advantage for this application is that the subassembly position is controlled by its constraints in the main assembly.

New Member
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎06-13-2012
Message 4 of 5 (355 Views)

Re: Subassembly positions and flexible constraints

06-15-2012 08:35 AM in reply to: tyler.a

I appreciate the help guys.  With minimal experience in inventor (~6 months) any and all help/suggestions are accepted.  I'm still in the portion of my learning curve where im figuring out how to optimize my modeling methods.  Both recommendations have been filed away in my mental storage for use on future projects.

 

Tyler

*Expert Elite*
cbenner
Posts: 2,832
Registered: ‎04-06-2010
Message 5 of 5 (291 Views)

Re: Subassembly positions and flexible constraints

08-08-2012 05:58 AM in reply to: sbixler

Little complaint on this issue.... when you take an assembly that was used adaptively in a larger assembly, and do a copy design on it so it can be used differently in a new larger assembly... shouldn't Inventor automatically clear the adaptivity on the copied version?

 

 For the life of me I could not figure out why I was unable to set this new, copied pump assembly as adaptive on my skid.  Then I read this post, and remembered a little obscure trick someone once showed me.  Went into Document Settings (of all places) and unchecked the "Used Adaptively..." box, and everything was fine.  How in blazes is anyone supposed to know about this, if they haven't already seen it done?!  I think that a copied sub-assembly should automatically be cleared, or there should be a right click option to clear adaptivity on parts, rather than having to dig through Document Settings looking for a tiny check box that most people probably don't even know is there.

 

I love my job, I love my job.....

ChrisB

ADSK_Expert_Elite_Icon_S_Color_Blk.png

Please use Mark Solutions!.Accept as Solution &Give Kudos!Kudos to further enhance the value of these forums. Thank you! :smileyhappy:

http://cbennertipstricks.blogspot.com/


   

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Welcome to the new Autodesk Community!
If this is your first visit, click here to get started and make the most of the Community. Let us know what you think of the new experience in the Community Feedback Forum.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

Ask the Community


Inventor Exchange Apps

Created by the community for the community, Autodesk Exchange Apps for Autodesk Inventor helps you achieve greater speed, accuracy, and automation from concept to manufacturing.

Connect with Inventor

Twitter

Facebook

Blogs

Pinterest

Youtube