Community
Inventor Forum
Welcome to Autodesk’s Inventor Forums. Share your knowledge, ask questions, and explore popular Inventor topics.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Stress Analysis of clevis pin

11 REPLIES 11
SOLVED
Message 1 of 12
synapse709
4011 Views, 11 Replies

Stress Analysis of clevis pin

Hello all,

I am totally new to stress analysis and can't find a way to add a torsion stress at the middle of a clevis pin, rotating in a horizontal motion.The test is diagram #4 in the white and yellow image. 

Do I use assemble to place a clevis pin from the content center and if so how do I add the force to the middle of the pin? Is there a way to place the stress points without use of an actual clevis pin being added to the model?

Also, is it ok to ground the bolts after assembling them to ensure a correct test? Should I use the FIX constraint for that instead?

All of inventor is so straighforward and easy to understand, but this seems to be a bit beyond me.

Thanks in advance for the help!

Tim

11 REPLIES 11
Message 2 of 12
synapse709
in reply to: synapse709

OH, I am also having trouble setting a 42 degree angle for the third test. Help with that would also be great!

Here is the model also.

Message 3 of 12
blair

I would use the Split-Face tool to create a circular face around each mounting bolt hole and place the ground constraint on the Split-Face. This will properly simulate the contact mounting spot for each bolt/washer head.

You may want to add a pin in the clevis hole and apply your load to this and the FEA within Inventor doesn't ramp the load within a hole to properly match real conditions. Simulation Mechanical 2014 has a "bearing load" which replicates the real life loading of circular holes such as bearing supports.

Looking at your model you shouldn't need the split-face as the bolts pretty much cover the base of the counter-sunk holes.

Inventor 2020, In-Cad, Simulation Mechanical