Inventor General

Reply
Mentor
trumpy81
Posts: 317
Registered: ‎10-22-2006
Message 1 of 4 (197 Views)

Something new in Inventor?

197 Views, 3 Replies
06-08-2012 01:01 PM

I was working on a pdf file which required the use of the alt key, but when I flipped back to Inventor I discovered this (see attached picture).

 

How long has this been in Inventor?

 

Have you fellas been holding out on me or something .... lol :smileytongue:

Regards
Andy M
-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Autodesk Inventor 2013 Pro SP1.1, Win7 Pro - 64Bit - SP1, Intel i7 960 @ 3.333 GHz
Asus X58 Sabertooth, Corsair 12Gig DDR3, AMD Radeon HD6970, Samsung 830 Series 256G SSD, 2x 3TB Seagate, 2x 2TB Hitachi,
1x 1TB Samsung, 4 x 2TB Seagate in Netgear ReadyNAS NV+, Dual Asus VE278Q Monitors
Distinguished Mentor
ampster
Posts: 986
Registered: ‎07-26-2005
Message 2 of 4 (186 Views)

Re: Something new in Inventor?

06-08-2012 01:03 PM in reply to: trumpy81

that feature is in 2011 also, not sure about previous versions...

*Expert Elite*
Curtis_Waguespack
Posts: 2,568
Registered: ‎03-08-2006
Message 3 of 4 (183 Views)

Re: Something new in Inventor?

06-08-2012 01:07 PM in reply to: trumpy81

Hi trumpy81,

This originates from the Ribbon interface ( Inventor 2010).

 

So it's actually a MS thing:

http://office.microsoft.com/en-us/support/use-the-keyboard-to-work-with-ribbon-programs-HA010091908....

 

It can get in the way of the ALT + Drag workflow as described here:

http://inventortrenches.blogspot.com/2011/01/alt-drag-assembly-constraints.html

 

I hope this helps.
Best of luck to you in all of your Inventor pursuits,
Curtis
http://inventortrenches.blogspot.com




  solution.png  Did you find this reply helpful ? If so please use the Accept as Solution or  Kudos button below.





Mentor
trumpy81
Posts: 317
Registered: ‎10-22-2006
Message 4 of 4 (124 Views)

Re: Something new in Inventor?

06-08-2012 05:02 PM in reply to: Curtis_Waguespack

Thanks Ampster and Curtis.

 

I figured that it was a ribbon thing, but in all the years that I've been using programs with the ribbon interface I have never seen it.

 

I guess it's not too hard to figure out that I rarely use keyboard shortcuts, except in Photoshop .... :smileyvery-happy:

 

Anyhow, I thought it was a cool feature and one that I will have to remember in future, as I seem to be learning new keyboard shortcuts all the time.

Regards
Andy M
-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Autodesk Inventor 2013 Pro SP1.1, Win7 Pro - 64Bit - SP1, Intel i7 960 @ 3.333 GHz
Asus X58 Sabertooth, Corsair 12Gig DDR3, AMD Radeon HD6970, Samsung 830 Series 256G SSD, 2x 3TB Seagate, 2x 2TB Hitachi,
1x 1TB Samsung, 4 x 2TB Seagate in Netgear ReadyNAS NV+, Dual Asus VE278Q Monitors

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Are you interested in helping shape the Autodesk Community?
We’re looking at a few different ways to improve the “All Forums” landing page and need your feedback! If interested, please take a few minutes to fill out the following Usability Study. Thank you for your time!

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

Ask the Community


Inventor Exchange Apps

Created by the community for the community, Autodesk Exchange Apps for Autodesk Inventor helps you achieve greater speed, accuracy, and automation from concept to manufacturing.

Connect with Inventor

Twitter

Facebook

Blogs

Pinterest

Youtube