Community
Inventor Forum
Welcome to Autodesk’s Inventor Forums. Share your knowledge, ask questions, and explore popular Inventor topics.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Shell problem

7 REPLIES 7
SOLVED
Message 1 of 8
niko.jarvinen
4475 Views, 7 Replies

Shell problem

Hi,

I'm quite new to Inventor and working with student version of inventor pro 2013. This is one of my first models and I keep hitting a wall when trying to create a shell.. Can't seem to do it succesfully for this part. I'd need the wall thickness to be approx 6mm. I've tried anything between 1-10 mm but nothing seems to work and the errors seem to change all the time depending which thickness I'm using. Is that form too complex for the shell or am I just doing something plain wrong?

Edit: Also I'd like to remove one of the narrower side faces to see inside the box. 

Thanks,

Niko

Tags (2)
7 REPLIES 7
Message 2 of 8

Apparently Shell function does not like fillets that much... Any way to create round edges if I want to use shell?

Message 3 of 8
JDMather
in reply to: niko.jarvinen

I noticed that your 1st sketch is not constrained.

You might want to read this document while I take a look at your part.

http://home.pct.edu/~jmather/skillsusa%20university.pdf

(shell works fine with fillets when created properly)

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Autodesk Inventor 2019 Certified Professional
Autodesk AutoCAD 2013 Certified Professional
Certified SolidWorks Professional

The CADWhisperer YouTube Channel

EESignature

Message 4 of 8
JDMather

Is there a reason you are using G2 Fillets (that part doesn't look like something I would expect to require G2 fillets)

This one still has G2 fillets but in a slightly different order.

Shelled at 3mm (that seems a little thick to me for something like this.

I would expect something like 1 to 2 mm thickness.