Inventor General

Reply
Contributor
elizabeth.dawe
Posts: 15
Registered: ‎10-01-2012
Message 1 of 10 (734 Views)
Accepted Solution

Shell Command Help

734 Views, 9 Replies
10-04-2012 06:22 AM

Hi,

 

I have been working on a project, and some of the dimensions have changed so I decided to remake the parts from scratch. But when I tried to use the Shell command on one of my new parts, I get the error "The attempted Shell operation would require a large topology change. Try with a smaller thickness." 

 

I've tried smaller thicknesses, but nothing works. I'm just confused because it is very similar to the old part that I Shelled without a hitch.

 

I've attached both parts. I'm trying to Shell the inside of the part, through the circular opening. Any help or suggestions would be appreciated.

 

Thanks,

Elizabeth

 

Using Autodesk Inventor 2013

*Pro
jletcher
Posts: 1,946
Registered: ‎05-18-2011
Message 2 of 10 (725 Views)

Re: Shell Command Help

10-04-2012 07:02 AM in reply to: elizabeth.dawe

Can you post a pic I don't have 2013 loaded here.. but try a thicker shell to see if that works. Sometimes small in a shell command error means thicker. So if you had .125 try .187 not .100....


Please mark this response as "Accept as Solution" if it answers your question.

James Letcher
2012 Factory Design Suite ( will not load 2013)
What happen to my Inventor :-(
Contributor
elizabeth.dawe
Posts: 15
Registered: ‎10-01-2012
Message 3 of 10 (719 Views)

Re: Shell Command Help

10-04-2012 07:07 AM in reply to: jletcher

Thanks a lot, making it thicker worked! 

*Expert Elite*
JDMather
Posts: 26,141
Registered: ‎04-20-2006
Message 4 of 10 (715 Views)

Re: Shell Command Help

10-04-2012 07:08 AM in reply to: elizabeth.dawe

You didn't indicate your desired shell thickness on the second part.

 

What is (8-5.136125959)/2=?

Please mark this response as "Accept as Solution" if it answers your question.
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Autodesk Inventor 2014 Certified Professional
Autodesk AutoCAD 2013 Certified Professional
Certified SolidWorks Professional
Inventor Professional 2015 64-bit
http://www.autodesk.com/edcommunity
http://home.pct.edu/~jmather/content/DSG322/inventor_surface_tutorials.htm
*Expert Elite*
JDMather
Posts: 26,141
Registered: ‎04-20-2006
Message 5 of 10 (711 Views)

Re: Shell Command Help

10-04-2012 07:11 AM in reply to: elizabeth.dawe

elizabeth.dawe wrote:

Thanks a lot, making it thicker worked! 


You better check your results and verify the design intent.  Do you understand the significance of my first question?

Please mark this response as "Accept as Solution" if it answers your question.
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Autodesk Inventor 2014 Certified Professional
Autodesk AutoCAD 2013 Certified Professional
Certified SolidWorks Professional
Inventor Professional 2015 64-bit
http://www.autodesk.com/edcommunity
http://home.pct.edu/~jmather/content/DSG322/inventor_surface_tutorials.htm
Contributor
elizabeth.dawe
Posts: 15
Registered: ‎10-01-2012
Message 6 of 10 (702 Views)

Re: Shell Command Help

10-04-2012 07:14 AM in reply to: JDMather

No, I don't understand exactly what you're saying

*Expert Elite*
JDMather
Posts: 26,141
Registered: ‎04-20-2006
Message 7 of 10 (696 Views)

Re: Shell Command Help

10-04-2012 07:21 AM in reply to: elizabeth.dawe

What would be the maximum wall thickness you could have with this area shelled?

Significance.PNG

 

(when you go over that max thickness - it works, but it isn't shelled in this thin area above the two green lines)

In your first part it is shelled in this area.  Which solution do you really want?

 

BTW - you are still duplicating dimensions and not using symmetry about the origin.  You might read this document http://home.pct.edu/~jmather/SkillsUSA%20University.pdf

Please mark this response as "Accept as Solution" if it answers your question.
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Autodesk Inventor 2014 Certified Professional
Autodesk AutoCAD 2013 Certified Professional
Certified SolidWorks Professional
Inventor Professional 2015 64-bit
http://www.autodesk.com/edcommunity
http://home.pct.edu/~jmather/content/DSG322/inventor_surface_tutorials.htm
Contributor
elizabeth.dawe
Posts: 15
Registered: ‎10-01-2012
Message 8 of 10 (687 Views)

Re: Shell Command Help

10-04-2012 07:30 AM in reply to: JDMather

I realized that afterwards. I'm going to change the thickness and some dimensions.

 

When I learned how to use SolidWorks, I was taught to start at the origin and go from there in one of the quadrants, not for symmetry about the origin. I guess old habits die hard.

 

I'm just starting to use Inventor so that document is very helpful. Thanks!

*Expert Elite*
JDMather
Posts: 26,141
Registered: ‎04-20-2006
Message 9 of 10 (684 Views)

Re: Shell Command Help

10-04-2012 07:33 AM in reply to: elizabeth.dawe

elizabeth.dawe wrote:

 

When I learned how to use SolidWorks, I was taught ...


You were taught incorrectly.  The proceedure is the same in SolidWorks and Creo (Pro/E).

It is a question of using the "best" and "most efficient" technique, not right or wrong.

Please mark this response as "Accept as Solution" if it answers your question.
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Autodesk Inventor 2014 Certified Professional
Autodesk AutoCAD 2013 Certified Professional
Certified SolidWorks Professional
Inventor Professional 2015 64-bit
http://www.autodesk.com/edcommunity
http://home.pct.edu/~jmather/content/DSG322/inventor_surface_tutorials.htm
Contributor
elizabeth.dawe
Posts: 15
Registered: ‎10-01-2012
Message 10 of 10 (676 Views)

Re: Shell Command Help

10-04-2012 07:48 AM in reply to: JDMather

Ok...

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

Ask the Community


Inventor Exchange Apps

Created by the community for the community, Autodesk Exchange Apps for Autodesk Inventor helps you achieve greater speed, accuracy, and automation from concept to manufacturing.

Connect with Inventor

Twitter

Facebook

Blogs

Pinterest

Youtube