Community
Inventor Forum
Welcome to Autodesk’s Inventor Forums. Share your knowledge, ask questions, and explore popular Inventor topics.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Sheet Metal Dimensioning

17 REPLIES 17
Message 1 of 18
Rhymesayer
589 Views, 17 Replies

Sheet Metal Dimensioning

I am pretty new to sheet metal design and this is probably really easy but to simplifiy I have a 5x7 sheet metal rectangular part that I want to dimension from end to end AFTER the flanges are added. I am adding 45 degree flanges on each end and want an end to end dimension NOT the initial rectangle. Any help would be appreciated. Thank you.  

17 REPLIES 17
Message 2 of 18
mcgyvr
in reply to: Rhymesayer

in a drawing (idw) or in the part file (ipt)?

Got a picture/sample/ipt to share?

Are you talking about dimensioning to a virtual intersection of a radius or something?

-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Inventor 2023 - Dell Precision 5570

Did you find this reply helpful ? If so please use the Accept Solution button below.
Maybe buy me a beer through Venmo @mcgyvr1269
Message 3 of 18
Rhymesayer
in reply to: mcgyvr

Yes I do. I just want to add a dimension like the one shown. My original drawing is just the rectangle before the flanges were added. I want dimensions from end to end. It is going to be welded on the ends to another piece of equal size. 

Message 4 of 18
Cadmanto

Welcome to the forum.

I am confused.  Are you asking how to create an end to end dimension from the premose that you tried adding a dimension and it didn't work for you?

Or as you asking if this is the norm for a sheet metal part to dimension this way.

Unless I am missing something it is pretty easy in the .idw drawing to add a linear dimension whether it was in your original model sketch or not.