Inventor General

Reply
Active Member
james.gordon
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎04-23-2013
Message 1 of 5 (185 Views)
Accepted Solution

Setting default values in the Drawing View dialogue box

185 Views, 4 Replies
01-15-2014 09:04 AM

Inventor 2012.

 

Is there a way of setting the default values that are displayed in the 'Drawing View' dialogue box?

 

We wish to make the 'Section Standard Parts' default to ALWAYS rather than OBAY BROWSER SETTINGS.

 

Ideally I would like this setting to be drawing specific - i.e. can be set via a template rather than require changing settings on each machine - i've seen that you can change it as a global setting in the Application options...

 

Many thanks,

James

*Expert Elite*
Cadmanto
Posts: 3,179
Registered: ‎12-07-2011
Message 2 of 5 (153 Views)

Re: Setting default values in the Drawing View dialogue box

01-15-2014 01:08 PM in reply to: james.gordon

James,

I have never done what you are asking, but given the fact that these settings don't take affect until views are placed, I am wondering if you can get this set by creating predefined views in your drawing templates.  Then in those views set this.

Another thought, like you mentioned these can be set in the application options.  With that said, while I have not had any luck doing this, some have.  Change these settings on your machine then export those settings and reload them on your co-workers machines.

 

check.PNGIf this solved your issue please mark this posting "Accept as Solution".

Or if you like something that was said and it was helpful, Kudoskudos.PNG are appreciated. Thanks!!!! :smileyvery-happy:

 

New EE Logo.PNG

Inventor.PNG     vault.PNG

Best Regards,
Scott McFadden
Inventor Professional 2013
(Colossians 3:23-25)

*Expert Elite*
cbenner
Posts: 3,132
Registered: ‎04-06-2010
Message 3 of 5 (144 Views)

Re: Setting default values in the Drawing View dialogue box

01-15-2014 01:16 PM in reply to: james.gordon

I can't see any way of doing it outside of application options, unless one of the ilogic gurus knows a trick or two.

ChrisB

ADSK_Expert_Elite_Icon_S_Color_Blk.png

Please use Mark Solutions!.Accept as Solution &Give Kudos!Kudos to further enhance the value of these forums. Thank you! :smileyhappy:

http://cbennertipstricks.blogspot.com/


   

*Expert Elite*
blair
Posts: 3,934
Registered: ‎11-13-2006
Message 4 of 5 (134 Views)

Re: Setting default values in the Drawing View dialogue box

01-15-2014 01:45 PM in reply to: cbenner
The application options was the only think that I could think of as well.
Did you find this reply helpful ? If so please use the Accept as Solution or Kudos button below.

IV2015 up1 PDSU / Sim Mech 2015 /
Win7-64
EVGA X79 - Classified, iCore7 3930k 32Gb Quad-Channel
950Gb (2 x 500Gb Sata III SSD RAID0 Adaptec 6805E Controller)
Nvidia GTX-690 Classified - 335.23
SpacePilot Pro 3.17.7, 6.17., 4.11
Active Member
james.gordon
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎04-23-2013
Message 5 of 5 (111 Views)

Re: Setting default values in the Drawing View dialogue box

01-16-2014 12:25 AM in reply to: james.gordon

Thanks all for your help; I think we'll just go with the Application options setting.

 

Regards,

James

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

Ask the Community


Inventor Exchange Apps

Created by the community for the community, Autodesk Exchange Apps for Autodesk Inventor helps you achieve greater speed, accuracy, and automation from concept to manufacturing.

Connect with Inventor

Twitter

Facebook

Blogs

Pinterest

Youtube