Inventor General

Reply
Distinguished Contributor
Posts: 288
Registered: ‎05-09-2008
Message 1 of 6 (223 Views)

STL export

223 Views, 5 Replies
04-02-2013 11:24 PM

Hi,

I have a multibody part. The last command is a combine the toolbodies saved. (we want to use these in other parts) I have RMB on the bodies that I don't want exported and made sure they are not selected for export. But when I then export as an STL file, all the bodies are exported. Is there a way of exporting  just one of the bodies to an STL file? I assume the Export object mentioned when RMB the bodies is for exporting to derived parts.

I'm trying to export just one body so that we can 3D print it, but because all the bodies are exported the resulting file has overlapping bodies, which the printer doesn't like.

So, again, Is there a way of exporting  just one of the bodies to an STL file?

Thanks,

Ozitag

 

PS, Yes I'm still on 2010. We have been told we wil be upgrading soon. How long is soon?

IV 2010
Employee
Posts: 413
Registered: ‎04-13-2010
Message 2 of 6 (214 Views)

Re: STL export

04-03-2013 02:00 AM in reply to: ozitag

Hi ozitag,

 

Thanks for your reporting !!!

 

Please try below workaround to see if it is works for you.

 

Go to Ribbon > Manage tab > Layout panel > click Make Components button to invoke its dialog box > select all the bodies > Next > OK, then you will see your multiple bodies is converted to inventor assembly. Then you can open the instance you want to export in a new document then export it to STL format.

 

Another information if your model is assembly, you can directly export it to STL format, hit Options button to launch STL File Save As Options dialog box, there is a Structure dropdown list, click it and select "One File per Part Instance", (see attached image)  then all the instances can be exported to STL as individual STL file at one time. This function is available in Inventor 2011.

 

 

Regards,

Kevin Li

Quality Assurance Team

Autodesk, Inc.

Kevin-Hongyuan Li
Quality Assurance Team
Autodesk, Inc.
Distinguished Contributor
Posts: 288
Registered: ‎05-09-2008
Message 3 of 6 (207 Views)

Re: STL export

04-03-2013 02:33 AM in reply to: KevinLi-Autodesk

Thanks for your reply Kevin.

Another work around is to just make the part that I want to export, then export it without saving the ipt. It works, but isn't as easy as just exporting.

Regards,

Ozitag

IV 2010
Employee
Posts: 413
Registered: ‎04-13-2010
Message 4 of 6 (203 Views)

Re: STL export

04-03-2013 02:44 AM in reply to: ozitag

Thanks ozitag, if you meet any other Inventor data translation issues please contact me via email Hongyuan.Li@autodesk.com , I or my team will take a look at it for you.

 

Have a nice day !!!

 

 

Regards,

Kevin Li

Quality Assurance Team

Autodesk, Inc.

Kevin-Hongyuan Li
Quality Assurance Team
Autodesk, Inc.
Distinguished Contributor
m.teleguz1
Posts: 144
Registered: ‎04-01-2013
Message 5 of 6 (198 Views)

Re: STL export

04-03-2013 04:57 AM in reply to: ozitag

or you could always select all bodies and and add to construction. Then delete the bodies. Then go to construction right click the right one and select "copy part" and select part and okay.

 

delete the construction data and now you have a merged part.

Image and video hosting by TinyPic
..........................................................................................................................
Did you find this reply helpful ? If so please use the Accept as Solution or Kudos button below.
..........................................................................................................................
Privacy warning: Since I live in a country that has traded liberty for the illusion of security, all of your posts to me are being monitored and saved by the United States Government.

Distinguished Contributor
Posts: 288
Registered: ‎05-09-2008
Message 6 of 6 (196 Views)

Re: STL export

04-03-2013 05:06 AM in reply to: m.teleguz1

I think the quickest, with the least amount of clicks and without affecting the original file is to make part, select that body, and export to stl. Then close the new ipt that was created without saving it. It is just a little more processing that just exporting the stl directly.

Thanks for your suggestion though.

Ozitag

IV 2010

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Welcome to the new Autodesk Community!
If this is your first visit, click here to get started and make the most of the Community. Let us know what you think of the new experience in the Community Feedback Forum.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

Ask the Community


Inventor Exchange Apps

Created by the community for the community, Autodesk Exchange Apps for Autodesk Inventor helps you achieve greater speed, accuracy, and automation from concept to manufacturing.

Connect with Inventor

Twitter

Facebook

Blogs

Pinterest

Youtube