Inventor General

Reply
Active Contributor
Posts: 43
Registered: ‎07-21-2006
Message 1 of 13 (580 Views)
Accepted Solution

SKETCH DRIVEN LOCATIONS OF PARTS

580 Views, 12 Replies
12-23-2013 07:46 AM

Former Solidworks user here turned Inventor user. I'm constantly running into roadblocks where I knew how to do something that Inventor just will not do. One of these is sketch driven locations of parts in an assembly. 

 

I'm tasked with locating a number of widgets in a case while taking up the least foortprint while affording the best amount of space between each widget. Formerly in Solidworks, I would contrain the planes of the widgets to a sketch and drag the sketch to adjust the size of my footprint.

 

Not surprisingly, this is a feature that's not intuitively available in Inventor. What would be the Inventor way of approcing this task? Make me love Inventor.  Thanks!

 

INVENTOR 2014 STANDARD
IOSX and PARALLELS
Valued Mentor
jeanchile
Posts: 699
Registered: ‎11-10-2009
Message 2 of 13 (571 Views)

Re: SKETCH DRIVEN LOCATIONS OF PARTS

12-23-2013 07:59 AM in reply to: RDG3PO
You can do the same thing in inventor you just need to constrain the items to the sketch entities (e.g. mate the cylinders of the parts to the center lines in your sketch).

We do this all the time using a part that contains the "skeleton" sketch placed inside the assembly then use constraints to lock everything to the sketch. I'm on my phone or I would post more info.

Good luck.
Inventor Professional 2013 (SP-2.3), Product Design Suite Ultimate
Desktop: Intel Core i7 3.4GHz, 16.0 GB RAM, Windows 7 Ultimate SP-1, 64-bit OS, (2) GeForce GTX 580 (331.81), Space Pilot Pro (3.16.1)
Laptop: Intel Core i7 3.9GHz, 16.0 GB RAM, Windows 7 Pro SP-1, 64-bit OS, GeForce GTX 780 (331.81), SpaceNavigator (3.17.7)
Active Contributor
Posts: 43
Registered: ‎07-21-2006
Message 3 of 13 (560 Views)

Re: SKETCH DRIVEN LOCATIONS OF PARTS

12-23-2013 08:10 AM in reply to: jeanchile

Hey jeanchile, thanks for responding so quickly!

 

Maybe I'm blind, but when I choose the constraint option, I can select the features on the part no problem, but I'm not able to select the sketch entities. Is there some check box somewhere that allows you to select the sketch features? I've already tried changing the selection method from "Select Component" to "Select Sketch".

INVENTOR 2014 STANDARD
IOSX and PARALLELS
Valued Mentor
jeanchile
Posts: 699
Registered: ‎11-10-2009
Message 4 of 13 (548 Views)

Re: SKETCH DRIVEN LOCATIONS OF PARTS

12-23-2013 08:24 AM in reply to: RDG3PO
Is your sketch an assembly sketch or a separate part "placed" into the assembly? We do this all the time with cylindrical objects and a sketch skeleton but I'll have to look into it further. I'm not at the office for the next two weeks and I'm having a new laptop built so I won't have access to IV until that's done and installed. Perhaps someone else can chime in while I get IV installed later today.
Inventor Professional 2013 (SP-2.3), Product Design Suite Ultimate
Desktop: Intel Core i7 3.4GHz, 16.0 GB RAM, Windows 7 Ultimate SP-1, 64-bit OS, (2) GeForce GTX 580 (331.81), Space Pilot Pro (3.16.1)
Laptop: Intel Core i7 3.9GHz, 16.0 GB RAM, Windows 7 Pro SP-1, 64-bit OS, GeForce GTX 780 (331.81), SpaceNavigator (3.17.7)
Active Contributor
Posts: 43
Registered: ‎07-21-2006
Message 5 of 13 (544 Views)

Re: SKETCH DRIVEN LOCATIONS OF PARTS

12-23-2013 08:31 AM in reply to: jeanchile

I'm working on making a sketch in a separate part to place in the assembly. I'll letcha know how it goes.

 

EDIT:

This was in fact the case. I needed a sketch inside another part that was inserted into the assembly in order to constrain to the sketch. Seems really like a really backwards way of doing this, as I now have another layer of procedure to work my way through, and another part file sitting in a folder. 

 

Can anyone offer an explaination as to why this is necessary?

INVENTOR 2014 STANDARD
IOSX and PARALLELS
Valued Mentor
jeanchile
Posts: 699
Registered: ‎11-10-2009
Message 6 of 13 (522 Views)

Re: SKETCH DRIVEN LOCATIONS OF PARTS

12-23-2013 09:50 AM in reply to: RDG3PO

While I'm certainly not qualified to speak intelligently about why the sketch needs to be in a part file I can offer my thoughts. In Inventor the assembly sketching tools are utilized primarily for creating assembly level feature like certain holes, machining features, etc. Using them for other things is permitted but usually not the best workflow.

 

Now that you have an effective "work-around" to accomplish the task at hand, it's at this point that I am going to ask a few further questions in hopes of determining a better method to achieve what you are after. Hopefully the really smart gurus like Curtis, JD, blair, et al will chime in here as well.

 

1.) What version of IV are you using (year and model)? YOu should consider putting this into each post so others can determine the proper help.

2.) Do you do this kind of case design often or is this a once in a lifetime kind of thing?

3.) Have you done a search for "case design" or "shipping container" or something like that here on the forum?

 

I'm guessing that using derived parts, multi-body parts, or another method is going to be the better choice for you if you do this often.

Inventor Professional 2013 (SP-2.3), Product Design Suite Ultimate
Desktop: Intel Core i7 3.4GHz, 16.0 GB RAM, Windows 7 Ultimate SP-1, 64-bit OS, (2) GeForce GTX 580 (331.81), Space Pilot Pro (3.16.1)
Laptop: Intel Core i7 3.9GHz, 16.0 GB RAM, Windows 7 Pro SP-1, 64-bit OS, GeForce GTX 780 (331.81), SpaceNavigator (3.17.7)
Active Contributor
Posts: 43
Registered: ‎07-21-2006
Message 7 of 13 (478 Views)

Re: SKETCH DRIVEN LOCATIONS OF PARTS

12-24-2013 06:11 AM in reply to: jeanchile

I'm using 2014 Inventor Standard

 

We do these cases and others similar quite often, previously in a 2D cad system. I'm looking for the best possible work flow to do this, and so far the process isn't matching up with what I'd be used to doing in Solidworks.

 

I've looked in to using derived parts via "Make Components" but that starts to get buggy when I add or subtract layers from the parent part. End result is that I need the foam layers to output as a sheet metal file so that it can be sent to our CNC machine. In addition, I'm trying to set up our drawings so that as much as possible is done beforehand. 

 

I'll do some perusing on the forums today regarding case and container design. But anything one might have to point in the right direction would be really appreciated. 

INVENTOR 2014 STANDARD
IOSX and PARALLELS
*Expert Elite*
PaulMunford
Posts: 864
Registered: ‎11-13-2006
Message 8 of 13 (371 Views)

Re: SKETCH DRIVEN LOCATIONS OF PARTS

12-28-2013 02:10 AM in reply to: RDG3PO
You're going about this the right way. You may find it easier to include a number of user defined UCS's in your layout part. If you also have a UCS defined at the insert point of your parts out becomes very quick tip 'snap' them
The CAD Setter Out Blog @CadSetterOut

Inventor Surfacing | AutoCAD | CAD Standards
 
Please use the Mark Solutions! Accept as Solution or Give Kudos! Kudos functions - Thank you!
*Expert Elite*
PaulMunford
Posts: 864
Registered: ‎11-13-2006
Message 9 of 13 (321 Views)

Re: SKETCH DRIVEN LOCATIONS OF PARTS

12-30-2013 02:17 PM in reply to: PaulMunford
Sorry - my phone cut off...

...'Snap' them together using constraint sets...
The CAD Setter Out Blog @CadSetterOut

Inventor Surfacing | AutoCAD | CAD Standards
 
Please use the Mark Solutions! Accept as Solution or Give Kudos! Kudos functions - Thank you!
Active Contributor
Posts: 36
Registered: ‎02-25-2009
Message 10 of 13 (311 Views)

Re: SKETCH DRIVEN LOCATIONS OF PARTS

12-30-2013 04:59 PM in reply to: RDG3PO

I have started working on a program in VB.net that creates an assembly  based on a list of parts, with each part having a point defines in the list. The program reads the list, picks the correct part, and places it in the assembly. The list defines the point in the part as XYZ, theta, etc.and uses the point to place it at that location..It isnt finished yet, as I want the program to read the list, look for a part in a library, and place it. If it doesnt find the part in the library, it creates it, and places that new part.

The program is being developed to create an assembled model of a particle accelerator...beam tubes, magnets, etc..When I have time to finish it, it could potentially be used to create any assembly as long as it can read the list of parts, and at least 1 model of each part exists in the library.

 

(Paul, I think you and I might have talked about this at AU this year..)

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Welcome to the new Autodesk Community!
If this is your first visit, click here to get started and make the most of the Community. Let us know what you think of the new experience in the Community Feedback Forum.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

Ask the Community


Inventor Exchange Apps

Created by the community for the community, Autodesk Exchange Apps for Autodesk Inventor helps you achieve greater speed, accuracy, and automation from concept to manufacturing.

Connect with Inventor

Twitter

Facebook

Blogs

Pinterest

Youtube