Community
Inventor Forum
Welcome to Autodesk’s Inventor Forums. Share your knowledge, ask questions, and explore popular Inventor topics.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Rotating part of a 3D .ipt part / Or alternative method

3 REPLIES 3
Message 1 of 4
tom.rutson
601 Views, 3 Replies

Rotating part of a 3D .ipt part / Or alternative method

As you're about to probably find out, I'm new to Inventor as a tool, so I'm getting to grips with it.

I'm creating a supercharger fan, and I need to have the fan blades at an angle. Currenly, they're extruded from the base at 90 degrees, I would want them at about 60. (in relation to the base plate, that is.) I had assumed that, like some other 3D programs I've used, I could simply rotate the base, causing the blades to all lean to one side, though as Inventor doesn't actually work with polygons (Vector, right?) I know I can't do this.

So, long story short, is there a way I can get the fan blades to be at a 60 degree angle without starting the whole thing again? I've added the file, please excuse the untidyness of the actions applied to it. Like I said; I'm new.

If there's a resource I can use to answer these kinds of questions in the future, lemme know.

Thanks;

Tom Rutson

3 REPLIES 3
Message 2 of 4
rdyson
in reply to: tom.rutson

I don't fully understand your design intent, but see if this gives you any ideas.

When JD comes along, he's going to tell you, you'r doing way too much work.

He may also complain about your sketch1 needing ~275 dim's to be fully constrained.

PDSU 2016
Message 3 of 4
kwilson_design

Tom,

I'm certainly not in the turbine industry, but first thing I would do, especially if you're new to Inventor is to simply your sketches and features. Modeling like that would be asking for serious trouble, intense heart burn and possibly even suicide if prolonged. I'm a firm believer of the K.I.S.S. principle.

Extrude your "base".