Inventor General

Reply
Distinguished Contributor
BillMazza
Posts: 119
Registered: ‎09-26-2011
Message 1 of 4 (562 Views)
Accepted Solution

Rotating in an assembly background.

562 Views, 3 Replies
09-26-2011 10:34 AM

I have a part that I am inserting into an assembly, the assembly consists of a 2D AutoCAD Architectural background. I want to align the part, with the background itself, so I just need to turn it 90degrees. When I do a rotate, it keeps rotating it on a 3D axis, including when I use my grip edit, and use a line to align for the new rotation.

 

How do I quickly rotate a part so that it's not rotating on a 3D axis, it just rotates along the x,y axis?

*Expert Elite*
Posts: 25,338
Registered: ‎04-20-2006
Message 2 of 4 (523 Views)

Re: Rotating in an assembly background.

09-26-2011 01:44 PM in reply to: BillMazza

It is a bit unclear what you are trying to do.
The normal method is to use assembly constraints (perhaps with the origin planes).
Post screen capture or actual files here.

Please mark this response as "Accept as Solution" if it answers your question.
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Autodesk Inventor 2014 Certified Professional
Autodesk AutoCAD 2013 Certified Professional
Certified SolidWorks Professional
Inventor Professional 2014 Edu 64-bit
http://www.autodesk.com/edcommunity
http://home.pct.edu/~jmather/content/DSG322/inventor_surface_tutorials.htm
*Expert Elite*
Posts: 25,338
Registered: ‎04-20-2006
Message 3 of 4 (521 Views)

Re: Rotating in an assembly background.

09-26-2011 01:48 PM in reply to: JDMather

I hesitate to tell you this as it is propbably not the best way.
But if you click on one of the standard views before you rotate and then start the command you will see rotation axis outside of the arcball.  I think this is the same across Autodesk products.

Please mark this response as "Accept as Solution" if it answers your question.
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Autodesk Inventor 2014 Certified Professional
Autodesk AutoCAD 2013 Certified Professional
Certified SolidWorks Professional
Inventor Professional 2014 Edu 64-bit
http://www.autodesk.com/edcommunity
http://home.pct.edu/~jmather/content/DSG322/inventor_surface_tutorials.htm
Distinguished Contributor
BillMazza
Posts: 119
Registered: ‎09-26-2011
Message 4 of 4 (481 Views)

Re: Rotating in an assembly background.

09-29-2011 01:54 PM in reply to: JDMather

Hi JD,

Thanks for the help, I found the answer to my problem....I have to stop thinking AutoCAD.

 

I found that when I am using asset builder, putting in my connectors, setting the ground plane, etc....then I go to insert it into the assembly, It acts just the way I need it to.

I did just post another query just now, which is really troubling me, regarding multiple assets bogging down the whole Inventor platform.

 

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Are you interested in helping shape the Autodesk Community?
We’re looking at a few different ways to improve the “All Forums” landing page and need your feedback! If interested, please take a few minutes to fill out the following Usability Study. Thank you for your time!

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

Ask the Community


Inventor Exchange Apps

Created by the community for the community, Autodesk Exchange Apps for Autodesk Inventor helps you achieve greater speed, accuracy, and automation from concept to manufacturing.

Connect with Inventor

Twitter

Facebook

Blogs

Pinterest

Youtube