Inventor General

Reply
Valued Contributor
Posts: 65
Registered: ‎02-11-2010
Message 1 of 7 (827 Views)

Resolve Link - What am I missing??

827 Views, 6 Replies
10-31-2012 07:37 AM

Hi Guys,

 

I have spent the best part of 4 hours trying to solve this problem. I have moved my inventor files to a new hard disk.

 

I have then updated all file paths to match in the project folder options and in options in Inventor.

 

Yet I have to keep resolving links for content centre files in my assemblys??

 

I have read a lot of what has been posted before here but can't really find a difinitive solution.

 

Can anyone help?

 

Thanks!!

 

Michael

Distinguished Mentor
Posts: 860
Registered: ‎11-03-2003
Message 2 of 7 (825 Views)

Re: Resolve Link - What am I missing??

10-31-2012 07:44 AM in reply to: michael.shelley

Did you copy all the content center files to the same location on your new disk?

Check your project file to make sure the location is correct.

John Retzlaff
Valued Contributor
Posts: 65
Registered: ‎02-11-2010
Message 3 of 7 (805 Views)

Re: Resolve Link - What am I missing??

10-31-2012 12:38 PM in reply to: john.retzlaff

Hi!!

 

Yes I did. I have remapped all the project properties to match where the content is. I have also updated all the file paths in the options tab.

 

Michael

Distinguished Mentor
Posts: 860
Registered: ‎11-03-2003
Message 4 of 7 (798 Views)

Re: Resolve Link - What am I missing??

10-31-2012 12:51 PM in reply to: michael.shelley

Did you change drive letters?

John Retzlaff
Valued Contributor
Posts: 65
Registered: ‎02-11-2010
Message 5 of 7 (793 Views)

Re: Resolve Link - What am I missing??

10-31-2012 01:14 PM in reply to: john.retzlaff

Yes, From drive C to D but this has been changed in all paths??

Distinguished Mentor
Posts: 860
Registered: ‎11-03-2003
Message 6 of 7 (790 Views)

Re: Resolve Link - What am I missing??

10-31-2012 01:16 PM in reply to: michael.shelley

Try opening the assembly, Manage tab, Content Center Panel, Refresh.

John Retzlaff
Valued Mentor
rhasell
Posts: 287
Registered: ‎05-23-2007
Message 7 of 7 (766 Views)

Re: Resolve Link - What am I missing??

10-31-2012 04:16 PM in reply to: john.retzlaff

I assume you copied the content centre file from your user directory, or wherever the project file points to. (Honestly I am not sure where it lives anymore)

 

I have experienced this many years ago, fix for the future:

 

Copy all your content centre files to your 'Workspace' folder, and then re-map the project/defaults to the new directory, this should solve all future issues.

 

Example:

cc files.JPG

 


Reg
Autodesk Product Design Suite Premium 2014 SP1-Update 2 Build 222
Intel Core i7 (950@3.07GHz)/Win7x64 (Home) - 12GB Ram
Nvidia GeForce GTX 560 Ti
 
Please accept as a solution if it fixes your problem.

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Welcome to the new Autodesk Community!
If this is your first visit, click here to get started and make the most of the Community. Let us know what you think of the new experience in the Community Feedback Forum.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

Ask the Community


Inventor Exchange Apps

Created by the community for the community, Autodesk Exchange Apps for Autodesk Inventor helps you achieve greater speed, accuracy, and automation from concept to manufacturing.

Connect with Inventor

Twitter

Facebook

Blogs

Pinterest

Youtube