Inventor General

Reply
Member
Chris86542
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎10-11-2012
Message 1 of 4 (468 Views)

Remove Item from BoM but not Assembly

468 Views, 3 Replies
02-13-2013 12:30 AM

Good Morning All,

 

First of all I apologise in advance if this question has already been asked. I had a look and couldn't find anything relevant.

 

I have a drawing in which I need to keep a part in the assembly but I don't want to display it on the BoM. Is there any way I can remove it from the BoM without removing it from the assembly and drawing?

 

Many thanks.

 

Chris

*Expert Elite*
cbenner
Posts: 3,132
Registered: ‎04-06-2010
Message 2 of 4 (455 Views)

Re: Remove Item from BoM but not Assembly

02-13-2013 04:58 AM in reply to: Chris86542

Well, one way I think would be to set the item to "Reference" in your BOM.  Then it will not show in the parts list on your drawing. 

ChrisB

ADSK_Expert_Elite_Icon_S_Color_Blk.png

Please use Mark Solutions!.Accept as Solution &Give Kudos!Kudos to further enhance the value of these forums. Thank you! :smileyhappy:

http://cbennertipstricks.blogspot.com/


   

Distinguished Contributor
bstewart
Posts: 115
Registered: ‎09-24-2008
Message 3 of 4 (454 Views)

Re: Remove Item from BoM but not Assembly

02-13-2013 04:58 AM in reply to: Chris86542

If you're referring to the drawing Parts List, you can double-click the parts list, highlight the row you want to hide, right-click the row and click Visible.

 

HTH

 

Bob

____________________________________________________
Product Design Suite Ultimate 2014 | Vault Basic 2014 (SP1)
Dell Precision M6600 | Intel i7-2820QM - 16GB
nVIDIA Quadro 4000M | Windows 7/64 Pro
*Pro
sbixler
Posts: 1,869
Registered: ‎09-15-2003
Message 4 of 4 (451 Views)

Re: Remove Item from BoM but not Assembly

02-13-2013 05:04 AM in reply to: Chris86542

Change it to Reference.  Right click on the component in the assembly (.iam) and select iProperties.  On the Occurrence tab change the BOM Structure from Default (Normal) to Reference.  In your drawing this will also change the linestyle to phantom, but you can edit the drawing view(s) and change the way Reference components are displayed.

 

You can also make this change in the BOM editor instead of the iProperties box.

Sam B
Inventor 2012 Certified Professional

Please click "Accept as Solution" if this response answers your question.
-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Inventor Professional 2013 SP1.1 Update 1
Windows XP Pro 32-bit, SP3
HP EliteBook 8730w; 4 GB RAM; Core™ 2 Duo T9400 2.53 GHz; Quadro FX2700M
SpaceExplorer/SpaceNavigator NB, driver 3.7.18
still waiting for a foreshortened radius dimensioning tool in Drawing Manager

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

Ask the Community


Inventor Exchange Apps

Created by the community for the community, Autodesk Exchange Apps for Autodesk Inventor helps you achieve greater speed, accuracy, and automation from concept to manufacturing.

Connect with Inventor

Twitter

Facebook

Blogs

Pinterest

Youtube