Inventor General

Reply
Valued Contributor
Posts: 61
Registered: ‎03-02-2006
Message 1 of 27 (249 Views)
Accepted Solution

Radii in 3D sketches...

249 Views, 26 Replies
04-27-2012 02:52 AM

Hello,

 

Anyone out there had problems trying to put a fillet on a 3D sketch?

I have a corner interface that is made up of an arc to a straight line...and can I heck as like put a fillet on that corner.

 

Is it possible or just a facility that doesn't work on arc/line interfaces?

 

regards


Gary

*Expert Elite*
Posts: 25,288
Registered: ‎04-20-2006
Message 2 of 27 (237 Views)

Re: Radii in 3D sketches...

04-27-2012 04:45 AM in reply to: knowga

Works fine here.
Attach the file that exhibits this behavior.

Please mark this response as "Accept as Solution" if it answers your question.
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Autodesk Inventor 2014 Certified Professional
Autodesk AutoCAD 2013 Certified Professional
Certified SolidWorks Professional
Inventor Professional 2014 Edu 64-bit
http://www.autodesk.com/edcommunity
http://home.pct.edu/~jmather/content/DSG322/inventor_surface_tutorials.htm
Valued Contributor
Posts: 61
Registered: ‎03-02-2006
Message 3 of 27 (228 Views)

Re: Radii in 3D sketches...

04-27-2012 07:16 AM in reply to: knowga

Have a play with this...

there is only one radius to complete...

 

if you're able to radius it, we must be missing an update somewhere down the line...

 

regards

 

Gary

*Expert Elite*
Posts: 25,288
Registered: ‎04-20-2006
Message 4 of 27 (219 Views)

Re: Radii in 3D sketches...

04-27-2012 08:05 AM in reply to: knowga

See attached.

You will have to reproduce since this was done in edu version.

 

Oops, what version did you say you are using?

The trick is to use 3 point arcs rather than those Include Geometry arcs.

Please mark this response as "Accept as Solution" if it answers your question.
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Autodesk Inventor 2014 Certified Professional
Autodesk AutoCAD 2013 Certified Professional
Certified SolidWorks Professional
Inventor Professional 2014 Edu 64-bit
http://www.autodesk.com/edcommunity
http://home.pct.edu/~jmather/content/DSG322/inventor_surface_tutorials.htm
Valued Contributor
Posts: 61
Registered: ‎03-02-2006
Message 5 of 27 (209 Views)

Re: Radii in 3D sketches...

04-27-2012 09:26 AM in reply to: knowga

Hello,

 

The version Im using is IV2011.

Hopefully I'll make it work on Monday (at home now)

 

thanks for your help...if it works, Ill report this as solution accepted.

 

regards

 

Gary

Valued Contributor
Posts: 61
Registered: ‎03-02-2006
Message 6 of 27 (187 Views)

Re: Radii in 3D sketches...

04-30-2012 12:36 AM in reply to: knowga

I couldnt load it...you're using IV2012...Im on 2011...

but I tried the 3 point arc...and that wouldn't work for me...

I snapped to one line, snapped to the other...the centre can be anywhere...

but when I tried to apply a tangential constraint for the arc to the snapped lines, it wouldn't do it?

 

take me from here...

 

regards

 

Gary

Mentor
trumpy81
Posts: 317
Registered: ‎10-22-2006
Message 7 of 27 (182 Views)

Re: Radii in 3D sketches...

04-30-2012 02:28 AM in reply to: knowga

In 3D Sketch9 the first half of the geometry is drawn, but the second half is projected (from what I don't know), so if you are trying to fillet the projected part of the path it won't work. You would need to go back to wherever that geometry was projected from and alter it there.

 

HTH

Regards
Andy M
-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Autodesk Inventor 2013 Pro SP1.1, Win7 Pro - 64Bit - SP1, Intel i7 960 @ 3.333 GHz
Asus X58 Sabertooth, Corsair 12Gig DDR3, AMD Radeon HD6970, Samsung 830 Series 256G SSD, 2x 3TB Seagate, 2x 2TB Hitachi,
1x 1TB Samsung, 4 x 2TB Seagate in Netgear ReadyNAS NV+, Dual Asus VE278Q Monitors
Valued Contributor
Posts: 61
Registered: ‎03-02-2006
Message 8 of 27 (172 Views)

Re: Radii in 3D sketches...

04-30-2012 06:27 AM in reply to: trumpy81

The projected line is an arc...the line it connects to is at an angle of 25 degrees from the plane of the projected line.

This creates a compound angle i need to put a radius on.

Going back to the projected line wouldn't help.

I'm finding i can't radius 2 arcs in a 3D sketch...and I can't make an constrain an arc tangential to a line in 3D sketch either.

 

regards

 

Gary

*Expert Elite*
Posts: 25,288
Registered: ‎04-20-2006
Message 9 of 27 (167 Views)

Re: Radii in 3D sketches...

04-30-2012 06:44 AM in reply to: knowga

What problem are you having creating the 3-point arcs in the 3D sketch as instructed earlier in Post #4?

 

3point arcs.png

Please mark this response as "Accept as Solution" if it answers your question.
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Autodesk Inventor 2014 Certified Professional
Autodesk AutoCAD 2013 Certified Professional
Certified SolidWorks Professional
Inventor Professional 2014 Edu 64-bit
http://www.autodesk.com/edcommunity
http://home.pct.edu/~jmather/content/DSG322/inventor_surface_tutorials.htm
*Expert Elite*
Posts: 25,288
Registered: ‎04-20-2006
Message 10 of 27 (167 Views)

Re: Radii in 3D sketches...

04-30-2012 06:46 AM in reply to: JDMather

Did 2011 have this tool?

 

3d arc.png

Please mark this response as "Accept as Solution" if it answers your question.
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Autodesk Inventor 2014 Certified Professional
Autodesk AutoCAD 2013 Certified Professional
Certified SolidWorks Professional
Inventor Professional 2014 Edu 64-bit
http://www.autodesk.com/edcommunity
http://home.pct.edu/~jmather/content/DSG322/inventor_surface_tutorials.htm

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Welcome to the new Autodesk Community!
If this is your first visit, click here to get started and make the most of the Community. Let us know what you think of the new experience in the Community Feedback Forum.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

Ask the Community


Inventor Exchange Apps

Created by the community for the community, Autodesk Exchange Apps for Autodesk Inventor helps you achieve greater speed, accuracy, and automation from concept to manufacturing.

Connect with Inventor

Twitter

Facebook

Blogs

Pinterest

Youtube