Community
Inventor Forum
Welcome to Autodesk’s Inventor Forums. Share your knowledge, ask questions, and explore popular Inventor topics.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

RANT: Inventor 2013 Is The Flakiest Version I've Ever Used!

4 REPLIES 4
Message 1 of 5
brian.cranston
661 Views, 4 Replies

RANT: Inventor 2013 Is The Flakiest Version I've Ever Used!

I've been using Inventor since ~2005. I have 14 years of solid modeling experience.  I've never seen so many crazy, unexplainable feature errors than this year. 

• Once a sketch was consumed, the sketch lost coincidence constraints and went open loop.
  • Sketches that can't "extrude distance".
  • Today's whopper- I'm totally hosed by a can't save this segment or that object of type error- hours of work is shot.

I know, I should have saved more often.

Anybody else have this same feeling this year?  I really hope 2014 is better.  I can't wait for it's first service pack so I can move onto it.

-Brian Cranston

4 REPLIES 4
Message 2 of 5
SeanFarr
in reply to: brian.cranston

I have had about 10 instant inventor crashes today, I use 2014, I am working with very simple models, maybe 20 features, nothing that crazy, not even assembly files, just single parts. The screen closes and the send error report pops up. I simply close them. I used to fill them out, and the typical response was please send the data-set. Well I don't have the data-set, because Inventor crashed before I could save the data. I do save quite often, but you can't predict when the crash will occur, so what good is the data set, if it isn't up to point right before the crash.

I typically just pick up where I left off, which isn't usually that far from where the crash happened.

The software is is great and has some cool features, but don't ever expect a "bug/flaky" free program. Haha,

I expect the worst, so when a day goes by with no issues or weird error responses, it's a good day.

Cheers, it's Friday,