Inventor General

Reply
Active Contributor
Posts: 48
Registered: ‎09-09-2009
Message 1 of 7 (200 Views)

RAM related slow performance in IPT?

200 Views, 6 Replies
07-13-2013 04:00 AM

Hi all,

 

I'm working on a pretty complex single part (ipt) surface model.

 

When I zoom in and out I tend to run into a long delay before Inventor will allow me to continue. The programme basically pauses for 30 secs or more, but doesn't crash or do anything nasty. I assume this is related to lack of memory? (Inventor 2012 64bit, 4Gb RAM). Before I go on a shopping spree, can anyone confirm that this type of behaviour is a memory issue?

 

Cheers guys.

*Expert Elite*
blair
Posts: 3,634
Registered: ‎11-13-2006
Message 2 of 7 (182 Views)

Re: RAM related slow performance in IPT?

07-13-2013 07:50 AM in reply to: Al_RItchie

4Gb of memory on a 64bit O/S would be the same as having 3Gb of memory on an 32bit O/S. 6Gb would be the bare minimum for memory for a 64bit O/S

 

System spec's would help as well.

 

If possible post the part here.

Did you find this reply helpful ? If so please use the Accept as Solution or Kudos button below.

IV2015 PDSU / Sim Mech 2015 /
Win7-64
EVGA X79 - Classified, iCore7 3930k 32Gb Quad-Channel
950Gb (2 x 500Gb Sata III SSD RAID0 Adaptec 6805E Controller)
Nvidia GTX-690 Classified - 335.23
SpacePilot Pro 3.17.7, 6.17., 4.11
*Expert Elite*
Posts: 25,288
Registered: ‎04-20-2006
Message 3 of 7 (169 Views)

Re: RAM related slow performance in IPT?

07-13-2013 10:54 AM in reply to: Al_RItchie

Find the red End of Part marker in the browser.
(End of Folded on sheet metal parts EOF)
Drag the red EOP to the top of the browser hiding all features.

Save the file with the EOP in a rolled up state.

Right click on the file name and select Send to Compressed (zipped) Folder.

Attach the resulting *.zip file here.

Please mark this response as "Accept as Solution" if it answers your question.
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Autodesk Inventor 2014 Certified Professional
Autodesk AutoCAD 2013 Certified Professional
Certified SolidWorks Professional
Inventor Professional 2014 Edu 64-bit
http://www.autodesk.com/edcommunity
http://home.pct.edu/~jmather/content/DSG322/inventor_surface_tutorials.htm
Valued Mentor
Posts: 455
Registered: ‎11-19-2006
Message 4 of 7 (158 Views)

Re : RAM related slow performance in IPT?

07-13-2013 02:24 PM in reply to: Al_RItchie
Hi
You can change your display quality setting to medium or rough. This is in the application option display tab
Yannick Verreault
INV PRO 2014
MS Office 2007
Win 7 pro, core i7 950, asus P6T WS
nvidia Gforce GTX 295
WD caviar black 500Go
WD caviar black 1To

Active Contributor
Posts: 48
Registered: ‎09-09-2009
Message 5 of 7 (112 Views)

Re: RAM related slow performance in IPT?

07-15-2013 11:29 AM in reply to: Al_RItchie

Cheers guys.

 

I've modified the graphics setting as per suggestion which seems to help a little. Unfortunately I can't post the IPT as somewhat sensitve in nature (the work that is, not me :smileywink: )

 

I'm pretty sure it is a memory resouce issue, it's almost as if the programme has to load in another chunk if I zoom in past a certain level, if that makes sense.

Valued Mentor
Posts: 455
Registered: ‎11-19-2006
Message 6 of 7 (90 Views)

Re : RAM related slow performance in IPT?

07-15-2013 06:34 PM in reply to: Al_RItchie
Hi
what is your graphic card?
Yannick Verreault
INV PRO 2014
MS Office 2007
Win 7 pro, core i7 950, asus P6T WS
nvidia Gforce GTX 295
WD caviar black 500Go
WD caviar black 1To

*Expert Elite*
sam_m
Posts: 579
Registered: ‎11-05-2003
Message 7 of 7 (75 Views)

Re: RAM related slow performance in IPT?

07-16-2013 12:51 AM in reply to: Al_RItchie

goto your Inventor install directory (default: C:\Program Files\Autodesk\Inventor 20##)

there should be a \bin subdirectory, open that and find a program called memprobe.exe

 

Make sure it is monitoring Inventor (which i think it does by default).

 

This will show how much memory Inventor is using and when the physial (RAM) is running out and it is needing to page out to virtual memory.  If that virtual memory (marked as Inventor Page File Used) is significant then it shows you would benefit from a memory upgrade.

 

In all honesty, 4gb on a 64bit system is a potential massive bottleneck and you should be on 8gb minimum.

----------
Please mark this response as "Accept as Solution" if it answers your question...
but please understand that the solution may not be the answer you're wanting to hear...

If you have found any post to be helpful, even if it's not a direct solution, then please provide that author kudos - spread that love :smileyvery-happy:

Lithium - helping nntp users with mania, depression and headaches

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Welcome to the new Autodesk Community!
If this is your first visit, click here to get started and make the most of the Community. Let us know what you think of the new experience in the Community Feedback Forum.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

Ask the Community


Inventor Exchange Apps

Created by the community for the community, Autodesk Exchange Apps for Autodesk Inventor helps you achieve greater speed, accuracy, and automation from concept to manufacturing.

Connect with Inventor

Twitter

Facebook

Blogs

Pinterest

Youtube