Inventor General

Reply
Member
dugave_11
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎12-15-2013
Message 1 of 7 (264 Views)

Question about sketcher and work planes

264 Views, 6 Replies
12-15-2013 03:03 PM

I'm a long pro/e user and am now getting into Inventor...

For the most part it's been an easy transition. What I do miss is the pro/e sketcher.
For example, if you draw a rectangle and dimension it, it gets automatically zoomed
so you can see it, in Inventor you're left with the empty screen. :smileysad:
Not a big deal I guess.

But, what I can understand is why I can't put a dimension in sketch from some line to
a plane (XY for example)? Is that really so? I tried making the plane visible but it didn't
help.

Also, why doesn't symmetric constraint work with planes?


Is there a way to use planes when creating the
sketch?

Thanks!

Valued Mentor
jeanchile
Posts: 722
Registered: ‎11-10-2009
Message 2 of 7 (243 Views)

Re: Question about sketcher and work planes

12-15-2013 05:02 PM in reply to: dugave_11
I'm posting this on my phone so I can't be as descriptive as I would like (screenshots, etc.) but in Inventor you need to use the Project Geometry tool to project the work planes onto the sketch. If I remember correctly, the work plane will need to be perpendicular to the sketching plane not just intersect it so sometimes more work-geometry (e.g. work axes at plane intersections) needs to be created (someone smart like JD, blair, Curtis, or mcgyver will hopefully be by to confirm that in a little bit). Once the workplane is projected you can dimension to the line representing the projected plane or axis. Your symmetry constraints should work with the newly projected geometry as well.

Good luck.
Inventor Professional 2013 (SP-2.3), Product Design Suite Ultimate
Desktop: Intel Core i7 3.4GHz, 16.0 GB RAM, Windows 7 Ultimate SP-1, 64-bit OS, (2) GeForce GTX 580 (331.81), Space Pilot Pro (3.16.1)
Laptop: Intel Core i7 3.9GHz, 16.0 GB RAM, Windows 7 Pro SP-1, 64-bit OS, GeForce GTX 780 (331.81), SpaceNavigator (3.17.7)
Valued Mentor
yannick3
Posts: 465
Registered: ‎11-19-2006
Message 3 of 7 (241 Views)

Re : Question about sketcher and work planes

12-15-2013 05:11 PM in reply to: dugave_11
Hi
The only way to constraint sketch geometry with work feature is to project it to the sketch plane but with 3d sketch you can apply constraint directly with work feature ( coincident and parallel )




Yannick Verreault
INV PRO 2015
MS Office 2007
Win 7 pro, core i7 950, asus P6T WS
nvidia Gforce GTX 295
WD caviar black 500Go
WD caviar black 1To

Distinguished Mentor
ccarreiras
Posts: 681
Registered: ‎02-04-2010
Message 4 of 7 (209 Views)

Re: Question about sketcher and work planes

12-16-2013 02:51 AM in reply to: dugave_11

Hi!

 

You have to use "project geometry" to project the plane in the sketch. The projected plane, becomes a line in your sketch and you can use it to place dimensions.

 

Did you find this reply helpful ? If so, use the  Mark Solutions!  Accept as Solution or Give Kudos!Kudos - Thank you!

Regards.
CarlosC

Autodesk Inventor 2014 Certified Professional
Autodesk Factory Design Suite Ultimate 2015
Windows 7 64Bit
*Expert Elite*
JDMather
Posts: 26,186
Registered: ‎04-20-2006
Message 5 of 7 (186 Views)

Re: Question about sketcher and work planes

12-16-2013 05:56 AM in reply to: dugave_11

As noted by others the Project Geometry is roughly the equivalent of the Project command in Creo (Pro/E).

Project.png

 

I can tell you that I do not remember the last time that I did a Project Geometry of/or dimensioned to a workplane - I just don't do it.


In the browser expand the Origin and right click on the Center Point and select Visibilty.

I dimesion to the origin Center Point.

I very seldom have a workplane visible.

 

You might go through these

http://home.pct.edu/~jmather/SkillsUSA%20University.pdf
http://inventortrenches.blogspot.com/p/inventor-tutorials.html
http://wikihelp.autodesk.com/enu?adskContextId=HELP_TUTORIALS&language=ENU&release=2014&product=Inve...

Please mark this response as "Accept as Solution" if it answers your question.
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Autodesk Inventor 2014 Certified Professional
Autodesk AutoCAD 2013 Certified Professional
Certified SolidWorks Professional
Inventor Professional 2015 64-bit
http://www.autodesk.com/edcommunity
http://home.pct.edu/~jmather/content/DSG322/inventor_surface_tutorials.htm
Distinguished Mentor
rdyson
Posts: 876
Registered: ‎04-11-2005
Message 6 of 7 (176 Views)

Re: Question about sketcher and work planes

12-16-2013 06:49 AM in reply to: dugave_11

There is also an App Option to automatically project the part origin when you start a sketch.

 

Capture.JPG

Member
dugave_11
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎12-15-2013
Message 7 of 7 (123 Views)

Re: Question about sketcher and work planes

12-17-2013 09:42 AM in reply to: dugave_11

Thanks everybody for the answers!!

 

The project geometry (projecting the work plane) did the trick. Thanks again!

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

Ask the Community


Inventor Exchange Apps

Created by the community for the community, Autodesk Exchange Apps for Autodesk Inventor helps you achieve greater speed, accuracy, and automation from concept to manufacturing.

Connect with Inventor

Twitter

Facebook

Blogs

Pinterest

Youtube