Community
Inventor Forum
Welcome to Autodesk’s Inventor Forums. Share your knowledge, ask questions, and explore popular Inventor topics.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Question about sketcher and work planes

6 REPLIES 6
Message 1 of 7
dugave_11
557 Views, 6 Replies

Question about sketcher and work planes

I'm a long pro/e user and am now getting into Inventor...

For the most part it's been an easy transition. What I do miss is the pro/e sketcher.
For example, if you draw a rectangle and dimension it, it gets automatically zoomed
so you can see it, in Inventor you're left with the empty screen. 😞
Not a big deal I guess.

But, what I can understand is why I can't put a dimension in sketch from some line to
a plane (XY for example)? Is that really so? I tried making the plane visible but it didn't
help.

Also, why doesn't symmetric constraint work with planes?

Is there a way to use planes when creating the
sketch?

Thanks!

6 REPLIES 6
Message 2 of 7
jeanchile
in reply to: dugave_11

I'm posting this on my phone so I can't be as descriptive as I would like (screenshots, etc.) but in Inventor you need to use the Project Geometry tool to project the work planes onto the sketch. If I remember correctly, the work plane will need to be perpendicular to the sketching plane not just intersect it so sometimes more work-geometry (e.g. work axes at plane intersections) needs to be created (someone smart like JD, blair, Curtis, or mcgyver will hopefully be by to confirm that in a little bit). Once the workplane is projected you can dimension to the line representing the projected plane or axis. Your symmetry constraints should work with the newly projected geometry as well.

Good luck.
Inventor Professional
Message 3 of 7
yannick3

Hi
The only way to constraint sketch geometry with work feature is to project it to the sketch plane but with 3d sketch you can apply constraint directly with work feature ( coincident and parallel )