Inventor General

Reply
*Expert Elite*
LT.Rusty
Posts: 710
Registered: ‎10-23-2012
Message 91 of 202 (706 Views)

Re: Product Design Suite 2015

04-02-2014 01:47 PM in reply to: blair

blair wrote:
I would think so, if you import a model directly into Showcase, you don't get the "immersive", you needed to use the Design Suite function. It was one of those little link/add-ins that never really was explained well.

 

 

mmm ... you should still be able to get the Design Suite functionality even if you don't have the design suite installed.  I teach (for now, but might drop it for next year) a Showcase module in my Inventor Foundation Workshop.  The students don't have the product design suite - they get the student licenses for Inventor Pro and Showcase separately.  With both of them installed, completely independent of any PDS bundling, they still have the Suite Workflows stuff available to go from Inventor to Showcase.

 


___________________________________________________________

Product Design Suite Ultimate 2013, 2014, 2015

Work: Dell Precision T1600 (Xeon E3-1280 / 16GB / 512 GB SSD / 250 GB (Internal) / 1 TB (External) / Quadro 600)
Home: i7-4770k / ASUS Z87-Pro / 16GB / 250 GB SSD / 1 TB HDD / 3 TB USB3 HDD / Radeon R9-270X 4GB
Laptop: Toshiba Satellite P755-S5269 (i7-2630QM / 8 GB / 250 GB SSD / 750 GB HDD / GT540M)

*Expert Elite*
blair
Posts: 3,940
Registered: ‎11-13-2006
Message 92 of 202 (701 Views)

Re: Product Design Suite 2015

04-02-2014 01:52 PM in reply to: LT.Rusty
There is something in the "Autodesk Design Suite" app (needs to be run from the Menu that allows for the "immersive" exchange of data regarding the Inventor Model. You don't get it if you just open Showcase and import the Inventor model. You need to run it from the ADS program menu. It must set up a mini data-base of dates for the Inventor files and will reload any file that's date is newer.
Did you find this reply helpful ? If so please use the Accept as Solution or Kudos button below.

IV2015 up1 PDSU / Sim Mech 2015 /
Win7-64
EVGA X79 - Classified, iCore7 3930k 32Gb Quad-Channel
950Gb (2 x 500Gb Sata III SSD RAID0 Adaptec 6805E Controller)
Nvidia GTX-690 Classified - 335.23
SpacePilot Pro 3.17.7, 6.17., 4.11
Valued Mentor
Valued Mentor
wh
Posts: 394
Registered: ‎12-27-2003
Message 93 of 202 (693 Views)

Re: Product Design Suite 2015

04-02-2014 02:15 PM in reply to: blair

Showcase only is one aspect, Alias and Sketchbook is another.

 

When I decided to subscribe to PrDS some years ago, I did this because of the total combo. Now I'm seeing, that this combo is cut off, and many parts are moved to 360 solutions. Not good for me, because all this stuff is depending on reliable Internet connections.

 

Now PrDS is cut off remarkably. I could have been thinking of continuous extensions as an aspect for additional customers instead. But no way.

 

My consequence: Meanwhile I'm beyond 65 of age. I'm not dement and in good psychical health, but customers begin laughing about people like me. I think, I've been doing no bad job in Betas and in some forums, but I can't live from that.

 

:smileywink: Therefore I regret, that I can't extend my subscription with the new conditions.

Walter

Valued Mentor
stevec781
Posts: 680
Registered: ‎05-29-2009
Message 94 of 202 (645 Views)

Re: Product Design Suite 2015

04-02-2014 09:49 PM in reply to: wh

This is why I object to susbscription and only uprgade after I see what I am getting. 

 

They expect us to pay in advance for improvements and upgrades, but wont disclose what is planned.  We have to hope we get something usefull.  This year they remove products that people have paid to own.  So does this mean people that paid for Alias 2013, Showcase 2013 etc and paid an annual fee for upgrades and improvements get to keep using the last included version, or will the license fine print and lack of backwards compatability mean that those users who wat to upgrade to Inventor 2015 are stuck? 

 

Glad I droped subs in 2013.  2014 had nothing for me and reported bugs were not fixed, 2015 has nothing of interest but also removes what I need.  No point even looking next year.

 

I guess 2014 will the last for many others.

Contributor
cbliss
Posts: 24
Registered: ‎03-29-2000
Message 95 of 202 (556 Views)

Re: Product Design Suite 2015

04-03-2014 04:19 PM in reply to: stevec781

Rumor has it that Showcase will be back in.  Check with your reseller or watch for more information later.  I think the point is that Autodesk does listen.

*Expert Elite*
blair
Posts: 3,940
Registered: ‎11-13-2006
Message 96 of 202 (548 Views)

Re: Product Design Suite 2015

04-03-2014 04:32 PM in reply to: cbliss
Proof will be in the pudding or in this case the Product Design Suite. I hope so
Did you find this reply helpful ? If so please use the Accept as Solution or Kudos button below.

IV2015 up1 PDSU / Sim Mech 2015 /
Win7-64
EVGA X79 - Classified, iCore7 3930k 32Gb Quad-Channel
950Gb (2 x 500Gb Sata III SSD RAID0 Adaptec 6805E Controller)
Nvidia GTX-690 Classified - 335.23
SpacePilot Pro 3.17.7, 6.17., 4.11
Mentor
MikahB
Posts: 206
Registered: ‎10-11-2009
Message 97 of 202 (541 Views)

Re: Product Design Suite 2015

04-03-2014 04:48 PM in reply to: cbliss

If true, it's an okay knee-jerk reaction this time, but it doesn't help me as I use Sketchbook and Alias as well.  In fact, I spent literally hundreds of hours in 2013 learning to use Alias which has now been unceremoniously ejected from the "Tools I Own" account.

 

Losing 3 of the 4 applications I use in PDS in one fell swoop with zero prior warning from AD or my "VAR" has convinced me that subscription is no longer worth it for me.  Good thing 2014 does everything I need for the time being.

Mikah Barnett
All Angles Design
Product Design Suite Ultimate 2014
Windows 7 Professional x64
Intel i7-3770k @ 4.5GHz
32GB DDR3-2400 RAM
GeForce GTX 670 4GB
Contributor
cbliss
Posts: 24
Registered: ‎03-29-2000
Message 98 of 202 (536 Views)

Re: Product Design Suite 2015

04-03-2014 05:03 PM in reply to: LT.Rusty

Your posting shows you are on Ultimate.  Doesn't that mean your subscription still includes those applications?

*Expert Elite*
scottmoyse
Posts: 1,604
Registered: ‎06-10-2009
Message 99 of 202 (528 Views)

Re: Product Design Suite 2015

04-03-2014 05:08 PM in reply to: cbliss

cbliss wrote:

Your posting shows you are on Ultimate.  Doesn't that mean your subscription still includes those applications?


Charlie,

 

Check out the image at the bottom of this post http://designandmotion.net/news/autodesk-product-factory-design-suite-2015-released/

 

All the editions are affected.

Cheers
Scott Moyse

Please use Mark Solutions!.Accept as Solution &Give Kudos!Kudos to further enhance the value of these forums. Cheers!


   

Employee
jannaspicer
Posts: 32
Registered: ‎08-20-2012
Message 100 of 202 (521 Views)

Re: Product Design Suite 2015

04-03-2014 05:14 PM in reply to: LT.Rusty

Hey all,

Charlie is not wrong... we're working on it.  More details soon.

 

-Janna

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

Ask the Community


Inventor Exchange Apps

Created by the community for the community, Autodesk Exchange Apps for Autodesk Inventor helps you achieve greater speed, accuracy, and automation from concept to manufacturing.

Connect with Inventor

Twitter

Facebook

Blogs

Pinterest

Youtube