Inventor General

Reply
Member
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎04-15-2012
Message 1 of 5 (244 Views)

Problem with chain links.

244 Views, 4 Replies
04-15-2012 12:04 PM

I'm working on a project with a handle on the side made of a loop and a ring but I can't figure out how to get them to connect like actual chain links. The attached picture shows the ring to the right and the loop to the left that it needs to be fed through. I've tried everything I can think of and searching the internet hasn't had any success so I figured I should make a post and see if anyone could point me in the right direction. Any help will be appreciated, thanks.

*Expert Elite*
Posts: 25,269
Registered: ‎04-20-2006
Message 2 of 5 (241 Views)

Re: Problem with chain links.

04-15-2012 12:23 PM in reply to: Donjus

Add assembly constraints.
tangent might be a good one

other ways if tangent not useful

attach your assembly here.

Please mark this response as "Accept as Solution" if it answers your question.
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Autodesk Inventor 2014 Certified Professional
Autodesk AutoCAD 2013 Certified Professional
Certified SolidWorks Professional
Inventor Professional 2014 Edu 64-bit
http://www.autodesk.com/edcommunity
http://home.pct.edu/~jmather/content/DSG322/inventor_surface_tutorials.htm
Member
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎04-15-2012
Message 3 of 5 (239 Views)

Re: Problem with chain links.

04-15-2012 12:33 PM in reply to: JDMather

I've tried doing a tangent constraint but the problem I'm having with that is it keeps sticking to the outside of the loop rather than the inside and when I try to move it around it clips through everything else in the model.

Member
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎04-15-2012
Message 4 of 5 (225 Views)

Re: Problem with chain links.

04-15-2012 03:30 PM in reply to: Donjus

I decided to just forgo any constraints and move it in from the front and side views so it looks like they're linked together. I'd rather have them constrained like a real chain link but they're on a stationary part so I don't have to worry about them coming undone when things move so I suppose I can just leave them the way they are. If I do end up finding a way or it's posted on here then I'll go back and constrain them but for now it works just fine. Thanks for the help.

Valued Mentor
rhasell
Posts: 287
Registered: ‎05-23-2007
Message 5 of 5 (219 Views)

Re: Problem with chain links.

04-15-2012 04:01 PM in reply to: Donjus

Try using work points, contrain them together, use any other contraintes to get the desired result.

 

Attched is an example for rigging equipment. The work points are shown in red

 

 


Reg
Autodesk Product Design Suite Premium 2014 SP1-Update 2 Build 222
Intel Core i7 (950@3.07GHz)/Win7x64 (Home) - 12GB Ram
Nvidia GeForce GTX 560 Ti
 
Please accept as a solution if it fixes your problem.

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Welcome to the new Autodesk Community!
If this is your first visit, click here to get started and make the most of the Community. Let us know what you think of the new experience in the Community Feedback Forum.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

Ask the Community


Inventor Exchange Apps

Created by the community for the community, Autodesk Exchange Apps for Autodesk Inventor helps you achieve greater speed, accuracy, and automation from concept to manufacturing.

Connect with Inventor

Twitter

Facebook

Blogs

Pinterest

Youtube