Inventor General

Reply
Member
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎04-26-2012
Message 1 of 13 (192 Views)

Problem -- Hard-Coded Sketch Start Plane

192 Views, 12 Replies
04-26-2012 06:27 AM

We are using Inventor 2012.  For everyone in the department, when starting a new sketch, it is always starts in the X-Z plane (upside down TOP).  Changes in "Application Options", "Part", "No New Sketch" have no effect on our individual computers.  This appears to be hard-coded in some master set-up file.  We would very much like to be able to pick our sketching plane.  Thanks.

Valued Mentor
RayFeiler
Posts: 366
Registered: ‎10-07-2008
Message 2 of 13 (190 Views)

Re: Problem -- Hard-Coded Sketch Start Plane

04-26-2012 06:33 AM in reply to: gmckewan

So changing this setting doesn't work for you?

Sketch.png

 

It's working for me.

Product Design Suite Ultimate 2014 64-Bit

Sometimes you just need a good old reboot.
Member
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎04-26-2012
Message 3 of 13 (185 Views)

Re: Problem -- Hard-Coded Sketch Start Plane

04-26-2012 06:36 AM in reply to: RayFeiler

No. It just ignores what we pick for the start plane and starts us on the X-Z.

Valued Mentor
RayFeiler
Posts: 366
Registered: ‎10-07-2008
Message 4 of 13 (181 Views)

Re: Problem -- Hard-Coded Sketch Start Plane

04-26-2012 06:40 AM in reply to: gmckewan

Have you installed SP1?

I have SP1 + DL17804875, DL17804781 & DL17690625 hotfixes install on my machine.

Product Design Suite Ultimate 2014 64-Bit

Sometimes you just need a good old reboot.
Valued Contributor
Secttor
Posts: 75
Registered: ‎03-01-2012
Message 5 of 13 (179 Views)

Re: Problem -- Hard-Coded Sketch Start Plane

04-26-2012 06:41 AM in reply to: gmckewan

we hope SP1 for Inventor is installed on your machines.

--------------------------------------
Draftworks.wordpress.com
Member
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎04-26-2012
Message 6 of 13 (176 Views)

Re: Problem -- Hard-Coded Sketch Start Plane

04-26-2012 06:43 AM in reply to: gmckewan

Yes, we all have SP1 installed.  Is there some master setup file? Or Administrator file that we don't know of?

Valued Mentor
RayFeiler
Posts: 366
Registered: ‎10-07-2008
Message 7 of 13 (174 Views)

Re: Problem -- Hard-Coded Sketch Start Plane

04-26-2012 06:47 AM in reply to: gmckewan

Not that I'm aware of. Do you also have the hotfixes installed?

Product Design Suite Ultimate 2014 64-Bit

Sometimes you just need a good old reboot.
Member
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎04-26-2012
Message 8 of 13 (172 Views)

Re: Problem -- Hard-Coded Sketch Start Plane

04-26-2012 06:56 AM in reply to: RayFeiler

Not sure about the Hotfixes.  The Dept. switched to Inventor about 3 years ago.  A consultant came in and set us up.  This problem has existed ever since and through each update of Inventor.  That is why I think it has to be hard-coded somewhere in some master file setting.

*Expert Elite*
Posts: 1,020
Registered: ‎09-03-2008
Message 9 of 13 (155 Views)

Re: Problem -- Hard-Coded Sketch Start Plane

04-26-2012 08:39 AM in reply to: gmckewan

I have several part templates set up, one for starting on the XY, one for starting on the XZ, one for starting on the YZ, and one with no starting sketch.  The one with no starting sketch is set up as my Standard.ipt template, because this is what is used when I derive a part or create a new file inside an assembly.

 

You could try setting up templates this way to see if it changes the behavior you see.

Valued Contributor
mbenoy
Posts: 76
Registered: ‎12-05-2006
Message 10 of 13 (139 Views)

Re: Problem -- Hard-Coded Sketch Start Plane

04-26-2012 10:19 AM in reply to: gmckewan

I think the problem is that the template you're using already has an active sketch.

Michael Benoy
Designer
Scott Safety

Inventor 2012 Pro, Windows 7, 64bit
Intel® Xeon® Processor W3580 (8M Cache, 3.33 GHz)
12 GB DDR3, NVIDIA Quadro FX 3800

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Welcome to the new Autodesk Community!
If this is your first visit, click here to get started and make the most of the Community. Let us know what you think of the new experience in the Community Feedback Forum.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

Ask the Community


Inventor Exchange Apps

Created by the community for the community, Autodesk Exchange Apps for Autodesk Inventor helps you achieve greater speed, accuracy, and automation from concept to manufacturing.

Connect with Inventor

Twitter

Facebook

Blogs

Pinterest

Youtube