Inventor General

Reply
Distinguished Contributor
SteveFrey
Posts: 500
Registered: ‎09-12-2007
Message 1 of 9 (1,705 Views)

Possible Graphics Problem

1705 Views, 8 Replies
10-12-2011 09:53 AM

If I switch back and forth from an .idw and .iam file while open simultaneously Inventor will say "Not Responding" and will do what I describe a a mini crash.  The program will stay open but I lose all Inventor video on my screen temporarily until the program recovers.  Does anyone know why this might be happening? 

Steve Frey
Inventor 2013
Windows 7 Professional 64-bit SP1
HP EliteBook 8470w
Processor: Intel(R) Core(TM) i7-3610QM CPU @ 2.30GHz
Memory: 16 GB
AMD FirePro M2000
3D Connexion SpacePilot
*Expert Elite*
mcgyvr
Posts: 6,633
Registered: ‎12-01-2004
Message 2 of 9 (1,701 Views)

Re: Possible Graphics Problem

10-12-2011 10:17 AM in reply to: SteveFrey

I get this occasionally with the last 2 or so releases (or maybe ever since Win7)...I thought thats normal.. :smileyvery-happy:

 

Did you find this reply helpful ? If so please use the Accept as Solution or Kudos button below.

Down with IDW/DWG files..... Long live 3D PMI... Hurry it up already..
-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
2015 Product Design Suite Ultimate
Windows 7 64 bit
Core i7 4820k processor (OC'd to 4.4Ghz), Nvidia GTX 770, 16G RAM


Distinguished Contributor
SteveFrey
Posts: 500
Registered: ‎09-12-2007
Message 3 of 9 (1,669 Views)

Re: Possible Graphics Problem

10-13-2011 06:36 AM in reply to: mcgyvr

Typical Autodesk. 

Steve Frey
Inventor 2013
Windows 7 Professional 64-bit SP1
HP EliteBook 8470w
Processor: Intel(R) Core(TM) i7-3610QM CPU @ 2.30GHz
Memory: 16 GB
AMD FirePro M2000
3D Connexion SpacePilot
*Expert Elite*
mcgyvr
Posts: 6,633
Registered: ‎12-01-2004
Message 4 of 9 (1,656 Views)

Re: Possible Graphics Problem

10-13-2011 08:16 AM in reply to: SteveFrey

yep mines done it about 10 times this morning already (I'm doing raytracing and saving a copy as png) During that process Inventor gets horribly bogged down and unresponsive. Windows pops up the not responding message and Inventor goes funky. At one time the Inventor program button in my taskbar even looked like Inventor had closed ( I thought it crashed) and another dialog poped up..something like ADApplication but then I just waited and it all came back finally.

I've been seeing this for the last few releases (like i said might just be since I upgraded to Win7-64) so Autodesk will blame it on Microsoft I'm sure but it seems to me Inventor isn't handling "high load" situations correctly as far as Microsoft is concerned. I can't remember any other program I have popping up a "not responding" message when its churning away. of course Inventor is alot more demanding that just about anything else I run.

 

Did you find this reply helpful ? If so please use the Accept as Solution or Kudos button below.

Down with IDW/DWG files..... Long live 3D PMI... Hurry it up already..
-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
2015 Product Design Suite Ultimate
Windows 7 64 bit
Core i7 4820k processor (OC'd to 4.4Ghz), Nvidia GTX 770, 16G RAM


*Expert Elite*
cwhetten
Posts: 1,051
Registered: ‎09-03-2008
Message 5 of 9 (1,649 Views)

Re: Possible Graphics Problem

10-13-2011 08:36 AM in reply to: mcgyvr

mcgyvr wrote:

Windows pops up the not responding message and Inventor goes funky.

I've been seeing this for the last few releases (like i said might just be since I upgraded to Win7-64)...

 


I noticed the same behavior when I first upgraded to Windows 7.  I think there is some new feature in this OS that tries to detect if a program is not responding and to try to "fix" it for you.  Sometimes this "fix" seems to involve terminating the program.  I dug around in the settings and found some options to turn this off and I have never seen it since.  See my reply to this post for more details about how to do that.  I hope it's helpful.

*Expert Elite*
mcgyvr
Posts: 6,633
Registered: ‎12-01-2004
Message 6 of 9 (1,642 Views)

Re: Possible Graphics Problem

10-13-2011 09:05 AM in reply to: cwhetten

Interesting.... I had both those settings turned on and now have turned them off. I will restart and see if that helps any.

 

also  the button that comes up in the task bar is ADApplicationButton. (incase that helps anyone at autodesk fix this issue)

Did you find this reply helpful ? If so please use the Accept as Solution or Kudos button below.

Down with IDW/DWG files..... Long live 3D PMI... Hurry it up already..
-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
2015 Product Design Suite Ultimate
Windows 7 64 bit
Core i7 4820k processor (OC'd to 4.4Ghz), Nvidia GTX 770, 16G RAM


Distinguished Contributor
SteveFrey
Posts: 500
Registered: ‎09-12-2007
Message 7 of 9 (1,635 Views)

Re: Possible Graphics Problem

10-13-2011 09:40 AM in reply to: cwhetten

Thanks.  I will check this out and see if it helps. 

Steve Frey
Inventor 2013
Windows 7 Professional 64-bit SP1
HP EliteBook 8470w
Processor: Intel(R) Core(TM) i7-3610QM CPU @ 2.30GHz
Memory: 16 GB
AMD FirePro M2000
3D Connexion SpacePilot
*Expert Elite*
mcgyvr
Posts: 6,633
Registered: ‎12-01-2004
Message 8 of 9 (1,619 Views)

Re: Possible Graphics Problem

10-13-2011 11:14 AM in reply to: SteveFrey

Didn't help me.. worth a shot though

Did you find this reply helpful ? If so please use the Accept as Solution or Kudos button below.

Down with IDW/DWG files..... Long live 3D PMI... Hurry it up already..
-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
2015 Product Design Suite Ultimate
Windows 7 64 bit
Core i7 4820k processor (OC'd to 4.4Ghz), Nvidia GTX 770, 16G RAM


Member
pavanpz
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎09-01-2010
Message 9 of 9 (1,153 Views)

Re: Possible Graphics Problem

10-23-2012 09:59 AM in reply to: mcgyvr

Good afternoon, I'm having trouble trying to open a new project in Inventor 2010 Professional, whenever I open Inventor and click on New Project and click on the Inventor Standard (appears AdApplicationButton not responding) hangs only releasing with Ctrl + Alt + Del, the operating system is Windows 7 64-bit SP1 and Inventor are all SP inclusivce SP4. Computer is a Dell Precision T3500 with 8 gb ram and Nvidia FX1800, how do I solve the problem? Thank you and I await response

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

Ask the Community


Inventor Exchange Apps

Created by the community for the community, Autodesk Exchange Apps for Autodesk Inventor helps you achieve greater speed, accuracy, and automation from concept to manufacturing.

Connect with Inventor

Twitter

Facebook

Blogs

Pinterest

Youtube