Community
Inventor Forum
Welcome to Autodesk’s Inventor Forums. Share your knowledge, ask questions, and explore popular Inventor topics.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Planetary/Cyclical Gear Systems in Inventor 2014

11 REPLIES 11
SOLVED
Message 1 of 12
aktaylo2
2796 Views, 11 Replies

Planetary/Cyclical Gear Systems in Inventor 2014

I'll start by saying I just started using Inventor 2014 yesterday so I'm completely new to this.(Not my first time in modeling software though.) Yes, I've done all of the relevant tutorials I can find. Yes, I've done extensive searching online and have not found anyone who directly answers this question.

Anywho, I'm trying to create a few sets of planetary gears and I'm running up against a wall here.

Both sets, for simplicity, need 1:4 ratios which makes the planet and sun gears the same size. I was using 20 teeth for the planets/sun and 60 teeth for the ring which based on my understanding of the ratios, should work. My problem arises when I attempt to get all of these gears(sun, four planets, and the ring) to mesh and rotate.

I can't figure out how to make sets of more than two gears using the Spur Gear tool. When I make the other gears on their own and add them to the system, they don't inherently mesh and pass through eachother. Obviously I'm missing something here because I clearly need more than a two gear system.

As a side question, is there a method(Derived Parts, maybe?) through which I can add to a gear made with the Spur Gear tool to create a new part that will still function as a propper gear?

11 REPLIES 11
Message 2 of 12
JDMather
in reply to: aktaylo2

You need to add a Rotational Constraint.

The Gear Generator does this automatically between a set, but when you add to assembly you need to do it manually.

Attach your assembly here if you can't figure it out.

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------