Inventor General

Reply
Active Contributor
sgold
Posts: 44
Registered: ‎05-22-2012
Message 1 of 5 (164 Views)
Accepted Solution

Place Active Component or from Memory

164 Views, 4 Replies
07-10-2012 08:58 AM

Ok, maybe I'm being blind here, but is there a way to place a component from the inventor tabs into another tab without having to go find it in a silly folder all the time?  I spend a lot of time digging around folders when all the parts I want to assemble are open in tabs already.  Seems like a good selection to be in that upper left corner of the open window.  That and a "recent files" selection too!  Thanks!

 

--Scott 

Scott G.

Using Inventor 2013/2014 and Vault Basic since 2012
Using Simulation Flow 360 since 2013 (sparingly, bear with me please)
6 years Solidworks (v2006-v2010)
10 years Pro-Engineer (v13-WF2) w/ Intralink (2.0-3.0) w/ Pro/Mechanica
2 years of Mechanical Desktop
AutoCAD since R12
First professional CAD: DrafixCAD
Active Contributor
hunt
Posts: 28
Registered: ‎03-20-2007
Message 2 of 5 (161 Views)

Re: Place Active Component or from Memory

07-10-2012 09:06 AM in reply to: sgold

Click on the Arrange button so you can view both the part and the assembly file.  Select the part file to make it the active window.  Click on the top most line in the browser (the line with the name of the part) and drag it into the assembly window.

*Expert Elite*
mcgyvr
Posts: 6,646
Registered: ‎12-01-2004
Message 3 of 5 (160 Views)

Re: Place Active Component or from Memory

07-10-2012 09:06 AM in reply to: sgold

Simply copy/paste from the graphic window or the model browser. (graphic window doesn't work if its a part or if the selection filter is not set right in the assembly files)

Did you find this reply helpful ? If so please use the Accept as Solution or Kudos button below.

Down with IDW/DWG files..... Long live 3D PMI... Hurry it up already..
-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
2015 Product Design Suite Ultimate
Windows 7 64 bit
Core i7 4820k processor (OC'd to 4.4Ghz), Nvidia GTX 770, 16G RAM


Active Contributor
sgold
Posts: 44
Registered: ‎05-22-2012
Message 4 of 5 (138 Views)

Re: Place Active Component or from Memory

07-10-2012 12:06 PM in reply to: sgold

Thanks.  Both solutions do work, though having to see both windows does suck a bit is the drag and drop mode...would be cool to drag that to the tab and the tab then change so you can place.  Similar to dragging files in windows, you can drag to a window in the task bar (old XP trick).

 

--Scott

Scott G.

Using Inventor 2013/2014 and Vault Basic since 2012
Using Simulation Flow 360 since 2013 (sparingly, bear with me please)
6 years Solidworks (v2006-v2010)
10 years Pro-Engineer (v13-WF2) w/ Intralink (2.0-3.0) w/ Pro/Mechanica
2 years of Mechanical Desktop
AutoCAD since R12
First professional CAD: DrafixCAD
*Expert Elite*
Curtis_Waguespack
Posts: 2,780
Registered: ‎03-08-2006
Message 5 of 5 (128 Views)

Re: Place Active Component or from Memory

07-10-2012 12:37 PM in reply to: sgold

Hi sgold,

 

If you use mcgyvr's copy/paste method you shouldn't need to see both windows at the same time.

 

  • Click the tab for the source component (the part you want to insert for example).
  • Select the top level node in the model browser.
  • Press CTRL + C on the keyboard
  • Click the tab for the desitination assembly.
  • Note the postion of your mouse cursor in the graphic area of the assembly
  • Press CTRL + V on the keyboard (the component will paste in at your cursor)

I hope this helps.
Best of luck to you in all of your Inventor pursuits,
Curtis
http://inventortrenches.blogspot.com

 



  solution.png  Did you find this reply helpful ? If so please use the Accept as Solution or  Kudos button below.





You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

Ask the Community


Inventor Exchange Apps

Created by the community for the community, Autodesk Exchange Apps for Autodesk Inventor helps you achieve greater speed, accuracy, and automation from concept to manufacturing.

Connect with Inventor

Twitter

Facebook

Blogs

Pinterest

Youtube