Inventor General

Reply
Active Contributor
Myles1
Posts: 30
Registered: ‎03-12-2012
Message 1 of 12 (376 Views)

Parts List with All Levels

376 Views, 11 Replies
05-07-2012 10:39 AM

I'm trying to create a parts list that will show item numbers for the sub assemblies and the individual parts for each sub assembly.  When I'm creating the parts list in the drawing, the option for "All Levels"is greyed out once I select my source assembly.  Any idea how I can show this in a Parts list?

Contributor
bryanthomas
Posts: 21
Registered: ‎04-14-2011
Message 2 of 12 (364 Views)

Re: Parts List with All Levels

05-07-2012 11:52 AM in reply to: Myles1
Open your actual assemblies BOM and right click the structured tab. Then click view properties and select all levels. This should allow the parts list to use it.
Active Contributor
Myles1
Posts: 30
Registered: ‎03-12-2012
Message 3 of 12 (356 Views)

Re: Parts List with All Levels

05-07-2012 12:09 PM in reply to: bryanthomas

Thanks,

That seems to work, now I just have to figure out how to make it so I can see the assemblies and their parts in the parts list.  For some reason the assemblies are not visible.

Basically, I need to see my three assemblies as item numbers 1,3,5. And then see all the parts of those assemblies as 11,13,15,17,19, etc.  When I edit my Parts List after it has been inserted  I see everything, with the item numbers I applied in the BOM of the assembly, but I can't get the lines containing the assemblies to be visible (right click, visible, doesn't work)

Maybe I am expecting way to much customization!

Anyone have any ideas?

Contributor
bryanthomas
Posts: 21
Registered: ‎04-14-2011
Message 4 of 12 (351 Views)

Re: Parts List with All Levels

05-07-2012 12:25 PM in reply to: Myles1
What is the BOM Structure of the Assemblies you are trying to do this to?
Active Contributor
Myles1
Posts: 30
Registered: ‎03-12-2012
Message 5 of 12 (349 Views)

Re: Parts List with All Levels

05-07-2012 12:26 PM in reply to: bryanthomas

Everything is set to Normal.

Contributor
bryanthomas
Posts: 21
Registered: ‎04-14-2011
Message 6 of 12 (342 Views)

Re: Parts List with All Levels

05-07-2012 01:10 PM in reply to: Myles1
I guess I am a bit confused at to what your problem is. So you were able to place an "All Level" Structured parts list into the drawing but you are unable to display the actual assembly line items? What version of Inventor are you using?
Active Contributor
Myles1
Posts: 30
Registered: ‎03-12-2012
Message 7 of 12 (317 Views)

Re: Parts List with All Levels

05-08-2012 04:18 AM in reply to: bryanthomas

I know it is a bit confusing!  I can place the All Levels Structured Parts List into my idw, however, I can either show the assemblies, or the parts that make them up.  (see attached for clarification)  When the assemblies are expanded in the Parts List editor, they become greyed out and I cannot make them visible in the Parts List.  We are in the process of changing or drawing package, and we need to be able to assign item numbers to both aeesmblies and parts, in the same parts list.

Thank you so much for your help, this is driving me crazy!

Contributor
bryanthomas
Posts: 21
Registered: ‎04-14-2011
Message 8 of 12 (296 Views)

Re: Parts List with All Levels

05-08-2012 05:40 AM in reply to: Myles1
Thanks for your explanation. I am trying to reproduce this on my end however I have not been able to do so. And I did not see anywhere on your post what version of Inventor you were using. This may help me track this issue down for you.
Contributor
bryanthomas
Posts: 21
Registered: ‎04-14-2011
Message 9 of 12 (294 Views)

Re: Parts List with All Levels

05-08-2012 05:46 AM in reply to: bryanthomas
Looks like this person was having the same problem: http://forums.autodesk.com/t5/Autodesk-Inventor/BOM-Levels-Display-parent-amp-children-in-parts-list... Did you create the Sub-Assemblies by demoting them from the parent? Are all your files migrated?
Active Contributor
Myles1
Posts: 30
Registered: ‎03-12-2012
Message 10 of 12 (286 Views)

Re: Parts List with All Levels

05-08-2012 06:33 AM in reply to: bryanthomas

Sorry, I forgot to mention that I was using Inventor 2011. 

This assembly was created by simpley Placing the sub assemblies in.  This is a very simplistic version that I am using to try to get this parts list to work.  These asemblies will get more complicated in the future.  Right now, two small assemblies were created seperately, and Placed into an empty one, all by the same software.

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

Ask the Community


Inventor Exchange Apps

Created by the community for the community, Autodesk Exchange Apps for Autodesk Inventor helps you achieve greater speed, accuracy, and automation from concept to manufacturing.

Connect with Inventor

Twitter

Facebook

Blogs

Pinterest

Youtube