Inventor General

Reply
Distinguished Contributor
JimSteinmeyer
Posts: 326
Registered: ‎05-16-2011
Message 11 of 23 (337 Views)

Re: Parts List - Grouping Items - One baloon call out value for different parts.

04-18-2012 09:42 AM in reply to: Infoseeker

Considering the number of times Parts List/ BOM/Ballooning problems come up and the number of unsatisfactory results are found.... I WONDER IF ANYONE AT AUTODESK HAS MADE THIS A PRIORITY FOR NEXT YEAR'S UPDATES  HINT...HINT

Jim

Inventor Premium 2013 SP1.1
Vault 2013- plain vanilla version
HP G71 notebook
celeron cpu w\ 4gb RAM and 64 bit system
Win 7 home premium

Ya, my boss has me running my personal machine at work.
Distinguished Contributor
Infoseeker
Posts: 195
Registered: ‎03-15-2012
Message 12 of 23 (333 Views)

Re: Parts List - Grouping Items - One baloon call out value for different parts.

04-18-2012 02:15 PM in reply to: Infoseeker

Anyone knows if ilogic rule withing .idw file would be able to fix the problem?

*Expert Elite*
Curtis_Waguespack
Posts: 2,772
Registered: ‎03-08-2006
Message 13 of 23 (327 Views)

Re: Parts List - Grouping Items - One baloon call out value for different parts.

04-18-2012 02:31 PM in reply to: Infoseeker

Hi Infoseeker, 

I think it would be helpful to provide a screen shot of the results you're trying to get. Can you overide the balloon and parts list to create a mock up?

 

I hope this helps.
Best of luck to you in all of your Inventor pursuits,
Curtis
http://inventortrenches.blogspot.com




  solution.png  Did you find this reply helpful ? If so please use the Accept as Solution or  Kudos button below.





Distinguished Contributor
Infoseeker
Posts: 195
Registered: ‎03-15-2012
Message 14 of 23 (322 Views)

Re: Parts List - Grouping Items - One baloon call out value for different parts.

04-18-2012 02:48 PM in reply to: Curtis_Waguespack

I will try to do that but what I want is quite simple.

I want all the numbers you can see in the .jpg I attached to be merged into one number.

I dont want different numbers displayed for substituted parts (in baloons and parts lists) - I want one.

The best thing would be if I could actually drive this number and not depend on the assembly order.

So perfect scenario would be if I was able to call out parts with the same characteristic (iproperty) with the same number (baloon, row in parts list) instead of having them listed as on the screen shot I attached.

Thats why I thought of ilogic, becase it seems it might be simple and quick solution. Each drawing file would have to have a formula ordering it to group all the items in a parts list... Well, substituting takes care of this, the formula would have to merge in parts lists all the parts with the same iproperty and give them a nuber that I want.

 

Valued Mentor
Rich.O.3d
Posts: 519
Registered: ‎08-19-2008
Message 15 of 23 (307 Views)

Re: Parts List - Grouping Items - One baloon call out value for different parts.

04-18-2012 07:41 PM in reply to: Infoseeker

i may be looking at this too simply but...

if the PARTNUMBER field is identical, then the parts will be meged in the parts list.

just edit the part number field in all the parts you want meged to be identical.

CAD Management 101:
You can do it your own way,
If its done just how I say!
[Metallica:And Justice For All:1988]
Distinguished Contributor
Infoseeker
Posts: 195
Registered: ‎03-15-2012
Message 16 of 23 (299 Views)

Re: Parts List - Grouping Items - One baloon call out value for different parts.

04-19-2012 07:28 AM in reply to: JimSteinmeyer

First of all I am using two custom iproperties as a common value, not PART NUMBER, that was just an example. Also for this columns I use substituting. I wish it was this simple. 

Valued Mentor
Rich.O.3d
Posts: 519
Registered: ‎08-19-2008
Message 17 of 23 (291 Views)

Re: Parts List - Grouping Items - One baloon call out value for different parts.

04-19-2012 03:29 PM in reply to: Infoseeker

maybe you could reasses your non use of PARTNUMBER as this is the only field i know of that inventor will merge rows on

 

you could do a code to propogate the PARTNUMBER field with the custom properties you are using

 

(as soon as 2 parts have some partnumber, they will be merged...as long as its ticked in the rowmerge properties box from  the bom...you can also add exceptions so certain conditions will not merge)

CAD Management 101:
You can do it your own way,
If its done just how I say!
[Metallica:And Justice For All:1988]
Distinguished Contributor
Infoseeker
Posts: 195
Registered: ‎03-15-2012
Message 18 of 23 (280 Views)

Re: Parts List - Grouping Items - One baloon call out value for different parts.

04-20-2012 07:44 AM in reply to: Rich.O.3d

If I do it your way, in my Quantity column I will have *Varies* value because this values are different for each part. If I disable Merge I will have some crazy numbers of parts with the same number, I want to have then in one row, with value for Quantity summed up (I use substitute option for that).

I still think the easiest might be to have ilogic rule in .idw file that forces parts list to show one number fof a baloon for all the parts with one particular iproperty but did not have time to figure it out.

Mentor
LOONYLEN
Posts: 183
Registered: ‎03-16-2009
Message 19 of 23 (152 Views)

Re: Parts List - Grouping Items - One baloon call out value for different parts.

07-31-2013 01:31 PM in reply to: Rich.O.3d

I dont know if you guys figured this out or not, but I'm having a similar dilemma.

I would like to have three different parts, with three different part numbers, shown "as normal" as far as item number, quantity and part number to be different for each row. and one column called assembly grouped together to show one assembly number. Is this possible? Please see the attachment.

Senior Designer/Cad Administrator
Inventor 2012, w/SP2
Dell Precision T3500, Intel Xeon CPU
W3680 @3.33GHz, 16.0 GB of RAM
Microsoft Windows 7 Pro, 64 Bit Edition
Version 2009, w/SP1
*Expert Elite*
dan_inv09
Posts: 2,293
Registered: ‎12-12-2006
Message 20 of 23 (140 Views)

Re: Parts List - Grouping Items - One baloon call out value for different parts.

07-31-2013 01:42 PM in reply to: LOONYLEN

There wouldn't be any way to automatically get that number in there like that, that I know of.

 

How may assemblies would you have per drawing?

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

Ask the Community


Inventor Exchange Apps

Created by the community for the community, Autodesk Exchange Apps for Autodesk Inventor helps you achieve greater speed, accuracy, and automation from concept to manufacturing.

Connect with Inventor

Twitter

Facebook

Blogs

Pinterest

Youtube