Inventor General

Reply
Member
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎12-08-2012
Message 1 of 6 (287 Views)

Part List with different BOM levels

287 Views, 5 Replies
12-08-2012 03:52 AM

Hi friends

 

I've assembly with multiples sub-assemblies, when I put part list with "parts only", it shows all parts of sub-assemblies and when I put with "structured", it shows all sub-assemblies(structured).

 

Is there a possibility to show selected sub-assemblies in parts while remaining as structured in one part list??

 

Thanks for help


Regards

Saad

 

 

Valued Mentor
jeanchile
Posts: 701
Registered: ‎11-10-2009
Message 2 of 6 (269 Views)

Re: Part List with different BOM levels

12-08-2012 09:29 AM in reply to: Saad.

After placing a structured parts list on your drawing, double click it to edit it, and try expanding the sub-assemblies you want by clicking the + next to the subs you want expanded. Does this do what you are looking for?

 

Good Luck!

Inventor Professional 2013 (SP-2.3), Product Design Suite Ultimate
Desktop: Intel Core i7 3.4GHz, 16.0 GB RAM, Windows 7 Ultimate SP-1, 64-bit OS, (2) GeForce GTX 580 (331.81), Space Pilot Pro (3.16.1)
Laptop: Intel Core i7 3.9GHz, 16.0 GB RAM, Windows 7 Pro SP-1, 64-bit OS, GeForce GTX 780 (331.81), SpaceNavigator (3.17.7)
Member
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎12-08-2012
Message 3 of 6 (218 Views)

Re: Part List with different BOM levels

12-10-2012 10:17 AM in reply to: jeanchile

Hello,

 

Thnks for reply, I've put the part list with structured, but in edit part list window, I am not finding "+" to click on ..

though there is "+/-" written in 2nd coloum header in that table, but this whole coloum is uneditable.

 

I need to show parts and structured assy in "partlist" 

 

Thanks again for help

 

Regards 

Valued Mentor
jeanchile
Posts: 701
Registered: ‎11-10-2009
Message 4 of 6 (211 Views)

Re: Part List with different BOM levels

12-10-2012 10:46 AM in reply to: Saad.

Saad. wrote:

.... but this whole coloum is uneditable.

 


That's the column I was talking about. I'm not sure why it is uneditable but it likely has something to do with the BOM settings of the sub-assemblies. If you can, set them to "normal" (in the sub-assemblies document settings, Bill of Materials tab, or directly in the BOM editor) and see if that gets you what you're after.

If you would like to provide more exact information (with screenshots) I'm sure the intellegent people here on this forum can get you what you need.

Inventor Professional 2013 (SP-2.3), Product Design Suite Ultimate
Desktop: Intel Core i7 3.4GHz, 16.0 GB RAM, Windows 7 Ultimate SP-1, 64-bit OS, (2) GeForce GTX 580 (331.81), Space Pilot Pro (3.16.1)
Laptop: Intel Core i7 3.9GHz, 16.0 GB RAM, Windows 7 Pro SP-1, 64-bit OS, GeForce GTX 780 (331.81), SpaceNavigator (3.17.7)
*Expert Elite*
-niels-
Posts: 1,315
Registered: ‎06-20-2006
Message 5 of 6 (192 Views)

Re: Part List with different BOM levels

12-10-2012 11:11 PM in reply to: jeanchile

In order to get the "+", in the BOM editor right click on the "structured" tab and select "view properties".

In the following dialog, select "all levels" from the dropdown and hit OK.

You should now be able to expand any sub assemblies in the structured list.


Using IV2014 Pro SP1 update 1, Win7-64bit
Contributor
dlmsdm1
Posts: 12
Registered: ‎09-18-2011
Message 6 of 6 (171 Views)

Re: Part List with different BOM levels

12-11-2012 08:19 PM in reply to: Saad.

I think I know what you are wanting.

  1. In the assembly, goto the BOM (Structured Tab)
  2. Find the asembly you are wanting broke into individual parts.
  3. Depending on how your BOM is set-up, find the column that has "Normal","Purchased" etc...(I don't have Inventor at home, but you can add this column. Someone may be able to throw up a screen shot of how to add it)
  4. Use the drop down and change the assembly (normally selected "Normal") to "Phantom"

This will break apart your assembly in the BOM and assign an "Item" number to it. You can always change it back if necessary by going to the "Model" tab, find the asssembly and changing back to "Normal"

If I mis-understood you question, I apoligize.

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Are you interested in helping shape the Autodesk Community?
We’re looking at a few different ways to improve the “All Forums” landing page and need your feedback! If interested, please take a few minutes to fill out the following Usability Study. Thank you for your time!

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

Ask the Community


Inventor Exchange Apps

Created by the community for the community, Autodesk Exchange Apps for Autodesk Inventor helps you achieve greater speed, accuracy, and automation from concept to manufacturing.

Connect with Inventor

Twitter

Facebook

Blogs

Pinterest

Youtube