Community
Inventor Forum
Welcome to Autodesk’s Inventor Forums. Share your knowledge, ask questions, and explore popular Inventor topics.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Part Critique

13 REPLIES 13
Message 1 of 14
roger
564 Views, 13 Replies

Part Critique

Hi,

I'm new to Inventor, and trying to work on my modelling style. This is my 3rd attempt at this part. The first try, I drew the whole profile in the first sketch, as if I was drafting in AutoCAD. It drove me nuts. I couldn't do even simple things I was used to doing in AutoCAD. With this try, I am trying to adapt more to the Inventor modelling flow. It gets kind of complicated, and this is a very simple part! I included the part file for comment if anyone has the time. There is probably a much easier set of steps. Thanks!

Roger

13 REPLIES 13
Message 2 of 14
BeKirra
in reply to: roger

It looks pretty good to me as you just start to use inventor.

Couple of small things:

1) You can create "Tube Grip Extrusion", "Cable Grip Extrusion", "Cable Loop Cut Extrusion", "45_Degree Cut Extrusion" and "ID Cut Extrusion" with a single extrusion, a single sketch.

2) You can select edges on different planes so you can do all fillets in "fillet7", in other words "fillet8" is not necessary.

3) You can mirror "Work Plane1" as "Work Plane2" - so you don't need to create the 2nd plane manually.

4) And you don't have to rename the extrusions and sketches.

Congratulations!

Please mark "Accept as Solution" and "Like" if my reply resolves the issue and it will help when others need helps.
= ♫ = ♪ = ♫ = ♪ = ♫ = ♪ = ♫ = ♪ = ♫ = ♪ = ♫ = ♪ = ♫ = ♪ = ♫ = ♪ = ♫ = ♪ = ♫ = ♪ = ♫ = ♪ = ♫ = ♪ = ♫ = ♪ = ♫ = ♪ = ♫ = ♪ = ♫ =
A circle is the locus of a cursor, starting and ending at the same point on a plane in model space or in layout such that its distance from a given coordinates (X,Y) is always constant.
X² + Y² = C²
Message 3 of 14
JoAnn_Hogan

Hi Roger,