Inventor General

Reply
Contributor
Posts: 24
Registered: ‎05-29-2013
Message 1 of 14 (626 Views)
Accepted Solution

Part / Assembly Quantities

626 Views, 13 Replies
07-25-2013 05:55 AM

Hi all,

 

Im hoping someone can help me with an issue that I have with Inventor. I will give an example first in order to understand the problem better. Say I have 5 cars that are all similar, and they all need to be manufactured, but for this i will only model one car. Then on the assy it will give the quantity for all parts that make up one car. But I want to change to quantities on the single part drawing so that it shows the quantity for all 5 cars. Is there an easy way of doing this besides writing a long code? For example can I change the project iproperties to 5 and then all the quantities in the project file will change to 5 off? We do not stamp our drawings so want to find a quick and easy way to change it.

Kind regards,

 

iUser

*Expert Elite*
Cadmanto
Posts: 3,067
Registered: ‎12-07-2011
Message 2 of 14 (608 Views)

Re: Part / Assembly Quantities

07-25-2013 06:35 AM in reply to: iUser

If I understand you correctly you want to use an assembly model, but in the drawing representing that assembly model you want the BOM to reflect a version of that assembly that is 5X in quantity then what the actual assembly model is?

If that is the case what I an thinking is make an ipart factory out of your assembly model with 4 more assemblies added.  Then in the just have the BOM be reflective of the 5X version from the factory.

I hope this makes sense.

 

check.PNGIf this solved your issue please mark this posting "Accept as Solution".

Or if you like something that was said and it was helpful, Kudoskudos.PNG are appreciated. Thanks!!!! :smileyvery-happy:

 

New EE Logo.PNG

Inventor.PNG     vault.PNG

Best Regards,
Scott McFadden
Inventor Professional 2014
(Colossians 3:23-25)

Valued Mentor
rhasell
Posts: 288
Registered: ‎05-23-2007
Message 3 of 14 (581 Views)

Re: Part / Assembly Quantities

07-25-2013 05:24 PM in reply to: Cadmanto

Hi

 

- In your Parts list Create two new properties of your own choosing.

- I called mine "***" for assembly. (Language Filter blocked it, see pics)

- and "TOTAL" for Total QTY.

- Remove the QTY column from the parts list

 

Set the column width of "***" to 1, this hides the column from view. (Language filter, see pics)

In the TOTAL Column, I changed the name to QTY

Click on Substitution

Enable Value Substitution, see pic.

 

Once you place the Parts list, you will HAVE to edit the parts list,

Expand the **** column so that you can see it, add the value of 5 in each row.

The Total QTY will populate automatically and correctly.

 

partslist1.PNG

 

partslist2.PNG

 

partslist3.PNG

 

partslist4.PNG

 

partslist5.PNG

 

 

 

 


Reg
Autodesk Product Design Suite Premium 2014 SP1-Update 2 Build 222
Intel Core i7 (950@3.07GHz)/Win7x64 (Home) - 12GB Ram
Nvidia GeForce GTX 560 Ti
 
Please accept as a solution if it fixes your problem.
Valued Mentor
Posts: 457
Registered: ‎08-02-2003
Message 4 of 14 (558 Views)

Re: Part / Assembly Quantities

07-26-2013 07:08 PM in reply to: iUser

Create a stand alone assembly file and put in it as many assemblies of the car as needed. Name it say - Car Parts so you know what it is for. Then in your drawing file when creating a Parts List - select that very assembly file for reference. Turn the visibility off for the parts you don't want in the drawing.

That should do what you are after.

Best Regards,

Igor.

Web: www.meqc.com.au
*Expert Elite*
PaulMunford
Posts: 866
Registered: ‎11-13-2006
Message 5 of 14 (543 Views)

Re: Part / Assembly Quantities

07-27-2013 01:05 AM in reply to: iUser
I'm with Igor. You can create a shrink wrapped version of your car assembly if you want to keep the load down...
The CAD Setter Out Blog @CadSetterOut

Inventor Surfacing | AutoCAD | CAD Standards
 
Please use the Mark Solutions! Accept as Solution or Give Kudos! Kudos functions - Thank you!
Contributor
Posts: 24
Registered: ‎05-29-2013
Message 6 of 14 (539 Views)

Re: Part / Assembly Quantities

07-27-2013 01:20 AM in reply to: rhasell

Thanks for the help rhasell, this info already helps a lot! I was wondering if it is possible to create a form for when you start a new project that asks you for the qty of the final assembly? In this case as in the example I would type 5 in this form. The reason is when we start a new project and the customer comes after the job and says he wants 8 more of these, the assembly is already designed and all the drawings done I dont want to manually go and change the quantities on each drawing? We talking about over 500 parts for each project, so is it possible to change the form then and then the quantities throughout the project changes accordingly? I am willing to try the coding / iLogic out if there is a way? 

Contributor
Posts: 24
Registered: ‎05-29-2013
Message 7 of 14 (537 Views)

Re: Part / Assembly Quantities

07-27-2013 01:26 AM in reply to: IgorMir

Hi Igor,

 

Theoretically this does work, but isn't there an easier way about it? Rhasell sulotion seems a lot faster already but there is still a lot of room for error. If I use your sulotion our backup file on the server will grow at very fast rate as each projects file size will increase by say 5 as in my example. And we need to keep these quantities so I cant go afterwards and delete the other four assemblies. See my reply on Rhasell mesage?

 

Kind regards,

Valued Mentor
Posts: 457
Registered: ‎08-02-2003
Message 8 of 14 (523 Views)

Re: Part / Assembly Quantities

07-27-2013 02:59 AM in reply to: iUser

Hi,

Frankly, I wouldn't do it the way you want it to get done. How many drawings are there for one machine? If you want to indicate quantities of the parts on the drawing for each and every purchase order - then you will be busy flat out reprinting them again and again.

It is not a big deal to control the quantity of parts needed for any particular order. For the large items - they can be easily counted. For the loose parts - it make sense to make a few more in case one get lost somewhere. Besides, if it is a repetitive order - then what seems to be a problem with keeping parts in stock?

Anyway, all of my drawings show the quantity of parts needed for one assembly only. And I yet to see it creating a problem down the truck on the workshop floor. But to answer your question if the assembly file size gets large and large with every save - no, it does not. I have just run a quick test on the assembly with 175 different items in BOM (the quantity of parts required to build the unit is close to one thousand). With only one assembly in the file - the memory foot print is 195 kb. With five - it is 225 kb. It is nothing to worry about at all. One other thing - you don't have to delete unneeded assemblies from the file. Just mark them as Reference ones. Reference items do not participate in BOM. Yet you can always change Reference status to Normal one, should the order change.

Best Regards,

Igor.

Web: www.meqc.com.au
Contributor
Posts: 24
Registered: ‎05-29-2013
Message 9 of 14 (484 Views)

Re: Part / Assembly Quantities

08-01-2013 01:53 AM in reply to: IgorMir

Hi Igor,

 

There are between 500 - 1000 drawings per machine, and all the machine are custom built. The reason for not wanting to put the quantity of the parts for one machine is that the drawings get sent to different dept. and we also out source. So the total quantity needs to perfect else it causes problems. Changing it on each drawing becomes time consuming, but looks like we will have to go that route. We did want to write a code that keeps the total quantity of final assemblies with the project file, but the problem is that if you change it, then Inventor does not know to go open all the drawings and to change it. So what we did is created a form that is linked to the iProperties project data. And the we used Authority as quantity. So if you open an assembly or new part you need to fill out this form each time and then the drawings quantity link is changed to authority and then it updates automatically on opening the drawing. Still a lot of room for error but this will have to do for now. :smileyhappy:

Valued Mentor
Posts: 457
Registered: ‎08-02-2003
Message 10 of 14 (481 Views)

Re: Part / Assembly Quantities

08-01-2013 02:12 AM in reply to: iUser

I just wonder how that situation is handled by automotive industry? Maybe you can implement something of similar to what they do?

Regards,

Igor.

Web: www.meqc.com.au

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Are you interested in helping shape the Autodesk Community?
We’re looking at a few different ways to improve the “All Forums” landing page and need your feedback! If interested, please take a few minutes to fill out the following Usability Study. Thank you for your time!

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

Ask the Community


Inventor Exchange Apps

Created by the community for the community, Autodesk Exchange Apps for Autodesk Inventor helps you achieve greater speed, accuracy, and automation from concept to manufacturing.

Connect with Inventor

Twitter

Facebook

Blogs

Pinterest

Youtube