Inventor General

Reply
Active Contributor
dexterdweller
Posts: 42
Registered: ‎02-18-2013
Message 1 of 6 (360 Views)
Accepted Solution

Parameters, Unit/Type, Area

360 Views, 5 Replies
03-25-2013 09:34 AM

I am sure I am overlooking something.. However, here it is:

 

I am trying to create a simple STD flat part that will be a piece of plate. I have parameters for Length, Width, etc... And I am setting up a User parameter for UOM_QTY which I want to spit out the SQFT all dimensions are in inches. So my equation is of course width*length/144. Is there a way to add this to the Unit/Type so that I can just select it? When I pick the Unit/Type cell in the parameters and expand area all I see is circular_mil. So can you add to these options? The sqft is essentially what I want to populate my BOM in addition to the Length, Width etc...

 

Am I even making sense?

 

Thanks!

*Expert Elite*
mrattray
Posts: 2,456
Registered: ‎09-13-2011
Message 2 of 6 (362 Views)

Re: Parameters, Unit/Type, Area

03-25-2013 09:37 AM in reply to: dexterdweller

You can manually type in compound units. Type in: ft*ft

That should make your conversion unnecessary as well.

Mike (not Matt) Rattray

*Expert Elite*
cbenner
Posts: 3,132
Registered: ‎04-06-2010
Message 3 of 6 (354 Views)

Re: Parameters, Unit/Type, Area

03-25-2013 09:46 AM in reply to: dexterdweller

From the Wiki help on units in parameters:

 

 To build a compound unit specification, such as in/sec, separate the individual units with the appropriate sign of operation, such as multiplication, division, or exponentiation.

 

So for square feet you would enter ft*ft, which shows up in the parameter as "ft^2".  I haven't tested this with real parts, but give it a shot.

ChrisB

ADSK_Expert_Elite_Icon_S_Color_Blk.png

Please use Mark Solutions!.Accept as Solution &Give Kudos!Kudos to further enhance the value of these forums. Thank you! :smileyhappy:

http://cbennertipstricks.blogspot.com/


   

Active Contributor
dexterdweller
Posts: 42
Registered: ‎02-18-2013
Message 4 of 6 (344 Views)

Re: Parameters, Unit/Type, Area

03-25-2013 09:55 AM in reply to: mrattray

Thanks for such a speedy reply!

Active Contributor
dexterdweller
Posts: 42
Registered: ‎02-18-2013
Message 5 of 6 (343 Views)

Re: Parameters, Unit/Type, Area

03-25-2013 09:56 AM in reply to: cbenner

Thanks for such a speedy reply!

Mentor
MaximUdod
Posts: 498
Registered: ‎01-14-2010
Message 6 of 6 (49 Views)

Re: Parameters, Unit/Type, Area

06-28-2014 10:36 PM in reply to: dexterdweller

Unfortunately this wont allow you to use area units as Base Unit in modelling parameters because "Only parameters that have a value that are units of length, volume, or mass are valid."
Source - http://augi.typepad.com/augi_news/files/iv10_bom_whitepaper.pdf

 

To get things improved in one of next releases it probably worth to vote for the idea - http://forums.autodesk.com/t5/Inventor-IdeaStation/Area-units-in-Base-Quantity/idi-p/4387795

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

Ask the Community


Inventor Exchange Apps

Created by the community for the community, Autodesk Exchange Apps for Autodesk Inventor helps you achieve greater speed, accuracy, and automation from concept to manufacturing.

Connect with Inventor

Twitter

Facebook

Blogs

Pinterest

Youtube