Inventor General

Reply
Member
jfildes
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎04-16-2012
Message 1 of 4 (224 Views)

One part multiple lengths?

224 Views, 3 Replies
06-25-2012 02:12 PM

Hello, hoping someone can help me out. I'm creating an assembly and in this assembly I need to add some foam pieces. These pieces are the exact same part number but can vary in length. How can I make such a part so that i can insert it into an assembly multiple times but have different lengths? I'd rather not make multiple pieces of foam for every single assembly for all of our product lines and am kind of loooking for the "one foam to rule them all" option. I would assume this would be an ilogic component I would have to create, but i haven't really made a part like that yet. Any advice would be appreciated. Thanks in advance

*Expert Elite*
JDMather
Posts: 26,148
Registered: ‎04-20-2006
Message 2 of 4 (216 Views)

Re: One part multiple lengths?

06-25-2012 03:20 PM in reply to: jfildes

You can do this with an iPart without having to getting into iLogic.

Could probably do it with Frame Generator custom profile as well, but that takes a bit more knowledge.

Please mark this response as "Accept as Solution" if it answers your question.
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Autodesk Inventor 2014 Certified Professional
Autodesk AutoCAD 2013 Certified Professional
Certified SolidWorks Professional
Inventor Professional 2015 64-bit
http://www.autodesk.com/edcommunity
http://home.pct.edu/~jmather/content/DSG322/inventor_surface_tutorials.htm
Member
jfildes
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎04-16-2012
Message 3 of 4 (190 Views)

Re: One part multiple lengths?

06-26-2012 06:03 AM in reply to: JDMather

Thanks, I figured something along those lines would work but wasn't sure how. Now I have my iPart and am able to enter a custom length when i place the part and it shows up in the BOM as the correct part number. is there an easy way to have it display the length in the BOM instead of the count of 1? 

Product Support
dave.anderson
Posts: 193
Registered: ‎10-25-2006
Message 4 of 4 (152 Views)

Re: One part multiple lengths?

07-10-2012 12:51 PM in reply to: jfildes

You can change the properties of the BOOM to reflect the G_L (length) value instead of the occurrence. There are many explanations out there on how. Here's one: http://inventortrenches.blogspot.com/2011/03/understanding-autodesk-inventor-frame.html



Dave Anderson
Premium Support Analyst – DLS Mechanical Design
Autodesk, Inc.


If I have answered your question, please "Accept Solution" so others may benefit as well.

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

Ask the Community


Inventor Exchange Apps

Created by the community for the community, Autodesk Exchange Apps for Autodesk Inventor helps you achieve greater speed, accuracy, and automation from concept to manufacturing.

Connect with Inventor

Twitter

Facebook

Blogs

Pinterest

Youtube