Inventor General

Reply
Valued Contributor
ndra
Posts: 79
Registered: ‎11-23-2010
Message 1 of 5 (2,288 Views)
Accepted Solution

Nvidia Quadro 3000M compatibility?

2288 Views, 4 Replies
10-07-2011 06:26 AM

Dear all,

 

I see on the autodesk certified hardware page http://usa.autodesk.com/adsk/servlet/cert?siteID=123112&id=16391880 that the whole x000M Quadro line is qualified, except for 3000M. Is there a reason for it? Or did autodesk just forgot to write it down?

And of course, Muphys law dictates that the IT proposed laptops carry the 3000M chip.

 

Any help?

 

Regards

*Pro
sbixler
Posts: 1,870
Registered: ‎09-15-2003
Message 2 of 5 (2,249 Views)

Re: Nvidia Quadro 3000M compatibility?

10-10-2011 04:22 AM in reply to: ndra

According to Nvidia's web site, the 3000M supports DirectX 11 and is in the high-end part of the comparison matrix.  That's all you need to know.  It should run Inventor very well.  See more detailed information here.

 

One caution, though- if by any chance your new laptops will be running a 32-bit operating system (they wouldn't do that to you, would they?), the 3000M will be using half of your available address space, leaving only 2 GB for everything else, including RAM, which will have to accommodate OS as well as applications such as Inventor.

Member
kuttyr
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎08-20-2012
Message 3 of 5 (1,280 Views)

Nvidia Quadro 3000M compatibility?

08-20-2012 06:08 AM in reply to: ndra

I have a similar problem. I have an Nvidia 3000M and it seems like it is not compatible with Alias 2012?! Is this true? When I contacted Dell they told me that if I continued using my graphic card, in the long run I would be degrading its performance. Also, obviously 2012 would be running slow.

 

Please let me know if this is true, and if there is any fix for this?

*Pro
sbixler
Posts: 1,870
Registered: ‎09-15-2003
Message 4 of 5 (1,276 Views)

Re: Nvidia Quadro 3000M compatibility?

08-20-2012 06:15 AM in reply to: kuttyr

You might get better answers in an Alias support forum; this one is for Inventor.  But I can't imagine why a high-end current Quadro GPU wouldn't be able to run Alias, or any other modeling application.  The info you received from Dell sounds bogus to me.

Member
kuttyr
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎08-20-2012
Message 5 of 5 (1,270 Views)

Re: Nvidia Quadro 3000M compatibility?

08-20-2012 06:51 AM in reply to: sbixler

I'll put this up in the alias forum, dint realise I had come to inventer.

thanks

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

Ask the Community


Inventor Exchange Apps

Created by the community for the community, Autodesk Exchange Apps for Autodesk Inventor helps you achieve greater speed, accuracy, and automation from concept to manufacturing.

Connect with Inventor

Twitter

Facebook

Blogs

Pinterest

Youtube