Community
Inventor Forum
Welcome to Autodesk’s Inventor Forums. Share your knowledge, ask questions, and explore popular Inventor topics.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Newbie question: partially defined parts in an assembly?

4 REPLIES 4
SOLVED
Message 1 of 5
Narayanan.D
343 Views, 4 Replies

Newbie question: partially defined parts in an assembly?

Hello,

I am a newbie to Inventor, who do not even know the appropriate terms (jargon) to search for. Hence I am asking this in this forum. I am ready to learn through documentation and other resources. I just need to know the term to serch for.

Basically I am evaluating to model rebars in Inventor. Rebars come in predefined shapes - for example a "L" bar will have two dimensions L Bar.PNG (marked as A, E and R).  The shape definition is fixed by a standard (like BS:8666) and the values for dimensions A, E and R are provided when it is instantiated as a part in an assembly.

I created an assembly as follows:

1. Created a new part containing just a solid cube.
  2. Created a part for the above rebar by sweeping a circle along path which resembelled the above bar.
  3. Created an assembly and inserted the cube as 1st part.
  4. Inserted the L bar part as 2nd part
  5. Inserted another L bar as 3rd part.
  6. modified the 3rd part's diameter and found it updates the other L bar as well.

My questions:

1. Is there any way for me to create the part for L bar without giving any fixed values for the sweep path and sweep profile diameter and use it in assembly?
  2. If the above question doesn't has a solution, then is there any way for me to change one instance of the part to change while other instances of it doesnt get affected (the behaviour said in step 6 of above should not happen).

Many thanks for your time,

Narayanan

4 REPLIES 4
Message 2 of 5
BarryZA
in reply to: Narayanan.D

I'm not sure why you created the cube?