Inventor General

Contributor
Mopower
Message 1 of 23 (337 Views)

New to CADD in general, need some advice please

337 Views, 22 Replies
08-17-2012 09:21 AM

Hi, I'm new to AutoCad. I have lots of  Adobe Photoshop and Google Sketchup experience and I also have 3 years of mechanical engineering college but did not learn AutoCad prior to dropping out 20 years ago.  I love inventing things and dream of making it big one day, but for now, I have a custom automotive fiberglass and plastic parts design and manufacturing company. I draw designs on photoshop and then pay someone to draw a model in Autodesk 3Ds Max. I use the model for scupting, measuring and marketing. I do all the  prototypes and moulds the old fasioned way.... After 20 years, now I'm very interested in learing to design parts on CAD and then having the molds or prototypes milled out on a CNC if possible...getting too old to do everything the hard way!  Can anyone help me with some advice as to which Cad Program would be the best for me? 

*Expert Elite*
JDMather
Message 2 of 23 (325 Views)

Re: New to Autocad, need some advice!

08-17-2012 09:42 AM in reply to: Mopower

AutoCAD is a very different beast than Autodesk Inventor.

http://forums.autodesk.com/t5/AutoCAD-2010/New-to-Autocad/td-p/3584164

Please mark this response as "Accept as Solution" if it answers your question.
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Autodesk Inventor 2014 Certified Professional
Autodesk AutoCAD 2013 Certified Professional
Certified SolidWorks Professional
Inventor Professional 2015 64-bit
http://www.autodesk.com/edcommunity
http://home.pct.edu/~jmather/content/DSG322/inventor_surface_tutorials.htm
Contributor
Mopower
Message 3 of 23 (321 Views)

08-17-2012 09:47 AM in reply to: JDMather

I know they are different but  can you give me a little more information please?  I was told that Inventor may be what I am looking for or possibly  Alias

*Expert Elite*
mcgyvr