Community
Inventor Forum
Welcome to Autodesk’s Inventor Forums. Share your knowledge, ask questions, and explore popular Inventor topics.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

New User - Having trouble figuring something out - HELP!!

4 REPLIES 4
Message 1 of 5
ac_sheldon
247 Views, 4 Replies

New User - Having trouble figuring something out - HELP!!

I am just learning Inventor.  I am building a fairly simple assembly where there is a hinged door that uses a gas spring to help open it (think a car hatchback).  I have built the door frame and have imported the gas spring from McMaster-Carr.  I can put the spring together so that the piston moves in and out and the ends can pivot about the balls.

However, when I insert the gas spring into my asembly, I cannot make it work.  I am using an Insert contraint to insert the pivot balls into their corresponding mounting holes on the door frame.  But I keep getting "Inconsistent Constraint" errors.

I have tried to assemble this every way I can think of and nothing seems to work.

I'm sure this is just a stupid newb error but I cannot figure it out.

HELP!!!

4 REPLIES 4
Message 2 of 5
JDMather
in reply to: ac_sheldon

@ac_sheldon wrote:

I am just learning Inventor. 

An assembly file (*.iam) is nothing more than a list of hyperlinks and a record of assembly constraints and a bit more.
You must include the part files (*.ipt) with any assembly.

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Autodesk Inventor 2019 Certified Professional
Autodesk AutoCAD 2013 Certified Professional
Certified SolidWorks Professional

Message 3 of 5
ac_sheldon
in reply to: JDMather

Sorry - like I said - new user.

What is the best way to attach the file so you can see it?  There are bunch of part files in the assembly.

Message 4 of 5
JDMather
in reply to: ac_sheldon

How many of the parts are actually needed to demonstrate the behavior (likely not all).