Inventor General

Reply
Member
ChrisBorthwick
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎01-08-2013
Message 1 of 4 (172 Views)

New Inventor session opens when I open a new drawing

172 Views, 3 Replies
01-18-2013 02:27 AM

Every time I open a new drawing a new Inventor session starts up and the drawing is opened in there. It's ok if I go through file-open etc in a current Inventor session but I don't want to open drawings like that all the time. If I open 5 drawings at once they start up in 5 seperate Inventor sessions! I can't seem to find an option to change this, is it an inventor problem or windows?

 

Thanks!

Contributor
scottph
Posts: 12
Registered: ‎01-17-2013
Message 2 of 4 (144 Views)

Re: New Inventor session opens when I open a new drawing

01-18-2013 02:41 PM in reply to: ChrisBorthwick

It does not work like that for me, all documents open in the running session.  So I asked around and the only suggestion I could get is to use the task manager to kill all Inventor and explorer sessions.  Restart explorer, then restart Inventor.  Inventor registers with explorer, and it might prompt a re-registration.

This might not help, but it's all I could come up with.  If I get anything else I'll let you know, though.

*Expert Elite*
Curtis_Waguespack
Posts: 2,801
Registered: ‎03-08-2006
Message 3 of 4 (141 Views)

Re: New Inventor session opens when I open a new drawing

01-18-2013 02:47 PM in reply to: ChrisBorthwick

Hi ChrisBorthwick,

 

It might help to tell others the version of Inventor and Windows you're using.

 

example:

Inventor 2013 - Service Pack 1.1

Windows 7 - Service Pack 1

 

I hope this helps.
Best of luck to you in all of your Inventor pursuits,
Curtis
http://inventortrenches.blogspot.com



  solution.png  Did you find this reply helpful ? If so please use the Accept as Solution or  Kudos button below.





*Expert Elite*
blair
Posts: 3,943
Registered: ‎11-13-2006
Message 4 of 4 (130 Views)

Re: New Inventor session opens when I open a new drawing

01-18-2013 05:52 PM in reply to: ChrisBorthwick

The proper methodolgy is to start Inventor first, make sure that you are using the correct Project file, then select New and then the required drawing template.

 

It sounds like you are doing something else such as using Windows Explorer to navigate to where your drawing template is stored. If this is the case, then a new version of Inventor will open.

Did you find this reply helpful ? If so please use the Accept as Solution or Kudos button below.

IV2015 up1 PDSU / Sim Mech 2015 /
Win7-64
EVGA X79 - Classified, iCore7 3930k 32Gb Quad-Channel
950Gb (2 x 500Gb Sata III SSD RAID0 Adaptec 6805E Controller)
Nvidia GTX-690 Classified - 335.23
SpacePilot Pro 3.17.7, 6.17., 4.11

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

Ask the Community


Inventor Exchange Apps

Created by the community for the community, Autodesk Exchange Apps for Autodesk Inventor helps you achieve greater speed, accuracy, and automation from concept to manufacturing.

Connect with Inventor

Twitter

Facebook

Blogs

Pinterest

Youtube