Inventor General

Reply
Contributor
davodaman.snr
Posts: 16
Registered: ‎03-02-2013
Message 1 of 7 (578 Views)

Need help with templates for Inventor 2013

578 Views, 6 Replies
03-09-2013 01:53 AM

Hi,

 

I've opened up Inventor 2013 and clicked 'new' but no templates have come up. I went to my templates file in my documents and there wasn't any there. Where can I get the templates?

 

Thanks

*Expert Elite*
Mark_Wigan
Posts: 437
Registered: ‎03-07-2006
Message 2 of 7 (559 Views)

Re: Need help with templates for Inventor 2013

03-09-2013 05:42 AM in reply to: davodaman.snr

they should have installed with the software unless something went wrong.

 

check your project file to see if it is pointing somewhere other than where you want it to.

 

i usually copy the new version of the ipj and a few templates into my own standard folder and use them as templates with my own customised settings,

 

default template location is as per snapshot... (if your application options have not changed) (ie for windows 7 at least).

best regards,
- Mark

PDSU 2014 Windows 7, 64bit. (please consider Kudos or Tag as Solved if your issue is sorted)

Contributor
rsmabery
Posts: 24
Registered: ‎09-01-2011
Message 3 of 7 (555 Views)

Re: Need help with templates for Inventor 2013

03-09-2013 05:48 AM in reply to: davodaman.snr

Hi pjwilkinson3,

 

When you click the New button in the Launch panel of the Get Started tab of the ribbon, do you get a dialog box titled "Create New File"?

 

If so, is the location listed at the top of the of that dialog box the same location you checked?

 

The location of the template files is determined by either your project file or your Application Options.  Check the project file that you are currently using for the template location.  It is in the Folder Options section while you're looking at the projects in Inventor.  If this has a location, then that is where Inventor is looking for your templates.  If it says [Default], then Inventor is looking at what your Application Options defines for the templates.  Go to the File tab of the Application Options and look at the Default templates location.

 

This will at least make sure you're looking at the correct location.

 

As far as them being missing..they are installed by default and I know no way of not installing them.  I'd venture a guess that your setup is going somewhere that it shouldn't be.

 

You can easily create new templates if in fact they got deleted or something.

 

Thanks,

Randy

Contributor
davodaman.snr
Posts: 16
Registered: ‎03-02-2013
Message 4 of 7 (541 Views)

Re: Need help with templates for Inventor 2013

03-09-2013 02:27 PM in reply to: rsmabery

Yes, I get a dialog box saying create a new file and the location is the same as the place I checked

Contributor
davodaman.snr
Posts: 16
Registered: ‎03-02-2013
Message 5 of 7 (539 Views)

Re: Need help with templates for Inventor 2013

03-09-2013 02:33 PM in reply to: davodaman.snr

It's trying to find the templates in document/autodesk/Inventor2013/templates but nothings there. In the documents folder there's another folder called Inventor. I clicked it and I saw a file called default. Is that where Inventor is meant to get its templates from?

*Expert Elite*
Mark_Wigan
Posts: 437
Registered: ‎03-07-2006
Message 6 of 7 (506 Views)

Re: Need help with templates for Inventor 2013

03-10-2013 08:01 PM in reply to: davodaman.snr

i have attached a snapshot of what you should see.

 

if not there then do a search of your c drive to see what / where they went.

 

if you still need to see how projects etc are setup let me know or do a bit of reading in the help...

 

if you need more assistance let me know. if we need to i will get a teamviewer meeting happening and look into it with you.

best regards,
- Mark

PDSU 2014 Windows 7, 64bit. (please consider Kudos or Tag as Solved if your issue is sorted)

Contributor
davodaman.snr
Posts: 16
Registered: ‎03-02-2013
Message 7 of 7 (489 Views)

Re: Need help with templates for Inventor 2013

03-11-2013 01:19 AM in reply to: davodaman.snr

No need. I re-installed it and it's working fine. Thanks for the help

 

Dave

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

Ask the Community


Inventor Exchange Apps

Created by the community for the community, Autodesk Exchange Apps for Autodesk Inventor helps you achieve greater speed, accuracy, and automation from concept to manufacturing.

Connect with Inventor

Twitter

Facebook

Blogs

Pinterest

Youtube