Community
Inventor Forum
Welcome to Autodesk’s Inventor Forums. Share your knowledge, ask questions, and explore popular Inventor topics.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Need help with combining Revolve and Coil.

10 REPLIES 10
SOLVED
Message 1 of 11
Broomanyollo
1424 Views, 10 Replies

Need help with combining Revolve and Coil.

Hi everyone,

I am very new to Inventor and need some experienced opinion on the problem that I am facing with the following idea:

1.png

Basically I have this column created with revolve and I would like to place these grooves on it like on the following example created with Coil:

2.png

I would like to preserve the number of grooves at the base and for them to "compress" accordingly at the narrow middle section of the first column. I tried accomplishing this by creating a new 2D sketch at the base of the column, but it wouldn't let me edit the base circle for the grooves to become "coilable" if you know what I mean. What am I doing wrong and is this the correct way of attempting to implement this idea?

10 REPLIES 10
Message 2 of 11
JDMather
in reply to: Broomanyollo

Something like one of these images?

Helix.PNG

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Autodesk Inventor 2019 Certified Professional
Autodesk AutoCAD 2013 Certified Professional
Certified SolidWorks Professional

Message 3 of 11
PaulMunford

Create a coil in a 3D sketch and then use 'project curves' to project it onto your surface. Use this curve to create your features.

Autodesk Industry Marketing Manager UK D&M
Opinions are my own and may not reflect those of my company.
Linkedin Twitter Instagram Facebook Pinterest

Message 4 of 11
JDMather
in reply to: PaulMunford

I prefer to use a Coil Surface to create the curve as much easier to edit.

See attached example.

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Message 5 of 11