Inventor General

Reply
Contributor
rgarthe
Posts: 25
Registered: ‎10-14-2005
Message 1 of 9 (1,320 Views)

Metric to Imperial conversion

1320 Views, 8 Replies
12-09-2008 04:37 PM
I have some math models and drawings in metric units that were created in Inventor 2009. How can these files be converted to imperial units (inches). I to use Inventor 2009.

Thanks
Distinguished Contributor
2grumpy
Posts: 174
Registered: ‎11-26-2007
Message 2 of 9 (1,320 Views)

Re: Metric to Imperial conversion

12-09-2008 04:46 PM in reply to: rgarthe
you do not need to 'convert' - Inventor does it. change your set up from imperial to metric. in any set up yo can enter any dimensions you like just type correct value egz: "1 in" or "5 m". in drawing use metric expresion dimension style instead imperial.
Cheers
*Expert Elite*
JDMather
Posts: 26,246
Registered: ‎04-20-2006
Message 3 of 9 (1,320 Views)

Re: Metric to Imperial conversion

12-09-2008 06:17 PM in reply to: rgarthe
Perhaps Tools>Document Settings>Units tab is what you are after.
Please mark this response as "Accept as Solution" if it answers your question.
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Autodesk Inventor 2014 Certified Professional
Autodesk AutoCAD 2013 Certified Professional
Certified SolidWorks Professional
Inventor Professional 2015 64-bit
http://www.autodesk.com/edcommunity
http://home.pct.edu/~jmather/content/DSG322/inventor_surface_tutorials.htm
*Duncan Anderson
Message 4 of 9 (1,320 Views)

Re: Metric to Imperial conversion

12-10-2008 02:36 AM in reply to: rgarthe
http://www.cbliss.com/inventor/iCode/index.htm

Scroll down to Change Units of Measurement


--
Duncan
"Humour ... is one man shouting gibberish in the face of authority, and
proving by fabricated insanity that nothing could be as mad as what passes
for ordinary living."
(Terence 'Spike' Milligan K.B.E., 1918-2002)
www.autodesk.co.uk/inventorjobs
http://support.microsoft.com/default.aspx/kb/555375


wrote in message news:6086930@discussion.autodesk.com...
I have some math models and drawings in metric units that were created in
Inventor 2009. How can these files be converted to imperial units (inches).
I to use Inventor 2009. Thanks
Contributor
rgarthe
Posts: 25
Registered: ‎10-14-2005
Message 5 of 9 (1,320 Views)

Re: Metric to Imperial conversion

12-12-2008 11:13 AM in reply to: rgarthe
I've followed your recommondations, which work, to a point. The converted file needs to translate into MasterCam as the converted part units. In other words if I change from metric to inch in Inventor 2009, the model needs to translate into MasterCam as an inch model. The methods I've been using the model translates to MasterCam in the orginal units, in this example metric.

Hopefully, I've missed your point, or did not follow directions correctly.

Any hints?

Thanks!
Contributor
rgarthe
Posts: 25
Registered: ‎10-14-2005
Message 6 of 9 (1,320 Views)

Re: Metric to Imperial conversion

12-12-2008 11:14 AM in reply to: rgarthe
I've followed your recommondations, which work, to a point. The converted file needs to translate into MasterCam as the converted part units. In other words if I change from metric to inch in Inventor 2009, the model needs to translate into MasterCam as an inch model. The methods I've been using the model translates to MasterCam in the orginal units, in this example metric.

Hopefully, I've missed your point, or did not follow directions correctly.

Any hints?

Thanks
Contributor
rgarthe
Posts: 25
Registered: ‎10-14-2005
Message 7 of 9 (1,320 Views)

Re: Metric to Imperial conversion

12-12-2008 11:14 AM in reply to: rgarthe
I've followed your recommondations, which work, to a point. The converted file needs to translate into MasterCam as the converted part units. In other words if I change from metric to inch in Inventor 2009, the model needs to translate into MasterCam as an inch model. The methods I've been using the model translates to MasterCam in the orginal units, in this example metric.

Hopefully, I've missed your point, or did not follow directions correctly.

Any hints?

Thanks
Distinguished Contributor
msklein
Posts: 1,451
Registered: ‎12-12-2003
Message 8 of 9 (1,320 Views)

Re: Metric to Imperial conversion

12-12-2008 11:30 AM in reply to: rgarthe
GO TO tools then document settings, units tab and change units. Master cam should see created units as inches, if not you probably have some other problem. just to clarifiy.
*Expert Elite*
JDMather
Posts: 26,246
Registered: ‎04-20-2006
Message 9 of 9 (1,320 Views)

Re: Metric to Imperial conversion

12-12-2008 11:30 AM in reply to: rgarthe
Zip and attach the file here.
Please mark this response as "Accept as Solution" if it answers your question.
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Autodesk Inventor 2014 Certified Professional
Autodesk AutoCAD 2013 Certified Professional
Certified SolidWorks Professional
Inventor Professional 2015 64-bit
http://www.autodesk.com/edcommunity
http://home.pct.edu/~jmather/content/DSG322/inventor_surface_tutorials.htm

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

Ask the Community


Inventor Exchange Apps

Created by the community for the community, Autodesk Exchange Apps for Autodesk Inventor helps you achieve greater speed, accuracy, and automation from concept to manufacturing.

Connect with Inventor

Twitter

Facebook

Blogs

Pinterest

Youtube