Inventor General

Reply
Mentor
CAD-One
Posts: 712
Registered: ‎10-26-2008
Message 1 of 7 (363 Views)
Accepted Solution

Measure

363 Views, 6 Replies
06-19-2012 08:51 AM

Can we use measure tool without having to open the part file?

Say directly in the viewer or in vault viewer.

C1
Inventor Professional 2013
Vault Collaboration 2013
*Expert Elite*
mcgyvr
Posts: 6,707
Registered: ‎12-01-2004
Message 2 of 7 (353 Views)

Re: Measure

06-19-2012 09:10 AM in reply to: CAD-One

Don't use vault but the Inventor Viewer does NOT include measurement capabilities (I'd suspect the Vault one doesn't either).. But Design Review does. (of course that also requires DWF files to be created.)

Autodesk has done this simply to increase sales of their products. No matter what they say. :smileyhappy:

Did you find this reply helpful ? If so please use the Accept as Solution or Kudos button below.

Down with IDW/DWG files..... Long live 3D PMI... Hurry it up already..
-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
2015 Product Design Suite Ultimate
Windows 7 64 bit
Core i7 4820k processor (OC'd to 4.4Ghz), Nvidia GTX 770, 16G RAM


Mentor
CAD-One
Posts: 712
Registered: ‎10-26-2008
Message 3 of 7 (347 Views)

Re: Measure

06-19-2012 09:23 AM in reply to: mcgyvr

I totally agree with you. Why keep 2 kinds of viwers. merge them & keep one.

 

Whats the point in simply looking at a 3dmodel in a viewer. one should be ble to measure too.Measure wouldnt modify nothing. So should be encouraged to have it in viewer.

C1
Inventor Professional 2013
Vault Collaboration 2013
Product Support
bobvdd
Posts: 535
Registered: ‎11-23-2005
Message 4 of 7 (306 Views)

Re: Measure

06-21-2012 04:26 PM in reply to: CAD-One

There is an Apprentice sample app that is delivered as part of the SDK folder and that has measuring capabilities.

It is a pretty crude viewer (you can rotate but not zoom :smileysad:)  but we offer the source code so you can always enhance it if you have C++ skills.

 

To get the app when you have already Inventor installedp, you have to install thedeveloper tools

C:\Users\Public\Documents\Autodesk\Inventor 2013\SDK\DeveloperTools.msi

 

Once the developer tools are installed, you can access the app in this default location

C:\Users\Public\Documents\Autodesk\Inventor 2013\SDK\DeveloperTools\Samples\VC++\Standalone Applications\ApprenticeServer\CurvatureApp

 

Because the app  uses the Apprentice API you can install and run the app on any machine that has the Inventor viewer product  installed and you don't need an Inventor license.

Bob

Member
JOHNHUSTINGS8562
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎05-20-2011
Message 5 of 7 (286 Views)

Re: Measure

06-22-2012 06:28 AM in reply to: CAD-One

eDrawings  2013 for Inventor from SolidWorks 2013 will open inventor files and it has a measure tool. We are having the same problem and are going to use the SolidWorks solution. But it is not free. Infact, it is expensive but it is cheaper than full copies of Inventor just so people can measure and less hassle than creating DWF files to open in Design Review. Competition is good. If enough people tell their vendors that they are using the competitions products to fill a gap left by Autodesk, then maybe Autodesk will step up. They are a business... I don't give what I do away for free.

Active Member
deondres034
Posts: 10
Registered: ‎10-29-2013
Message 6 of 7 (124 Views)

Re: Measure

10-30-2013 09:56 AM in reply to: bobvdd

I use Inventor 14. When I try to install developer tools it says "Could not find any version of microsoft visual studio." How would I try out the Apprentice app using my version?

*Expert Elite*
mcgyvr
Posts: 6,707
Registered: ‎12-01-2004
Message 7 of 7 (107 Views)

Re: Measure

10-30-2013 11:28 AM in reply to: deondres034

deondres034 wrote:

I use Inventor 14. When I try to install developer tools it says "Could not find any version of microsoft visual studio." How would I try out the Apprentice app using my version?


One might deduce that you would need to install Visual Studio...

Did you find this reply helpful ? If so please use the Accept as Solution or Kudos button below.

Down with IDW/DWG files..... Long live 3D PMI... Hurry it up already..
-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
2015 Product Design Suite Ultimate
Windows 7 64 bit
Core i7 4820k processor (OC'd to 4.4Ghz), Nvidia GTX 770, 16G RAM


You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

Ask the Community


Inventor Exchange Apps

Created by the community for the community, Autodesk Exchange Apps for Autodesk Inventor helps you achieve greater speed, accuracy, and automation from concept to manufacturing.

Connect with Inventor

Twitter

Facebook

Blogs

Pinterest

Youtube