Inventor General

Reply
Active Contributor
whiteskulleton
Posts: 46
Registered: ‎03-25-2010
Message 1 of 15 (354 Views)

Marking Menu Fade Problem

354 Views, 14 Replies
02-04-2013 08:01 AM

I am using Autodesk Inventor Professional 2013 and I have been having a problem with the marking menu deselecting the textbox after it fades out. Let me elaborate:

1. I am in a 2D sketch environment and have drawn a line or some type of sketch element.

2. I then right-click and drag to the general dimension command and release so that the command flashes showing that I have selected the command.

3. I then quickly select the line and click in the empty space to place the dimension while the general dimension command from the marking menu is fading away but hasn't quite disappeared yet.

4. Because I have the "Edit dimension when created" command selected in the applications menu, the textbox that controls the dimension immediately pops up and the value inside the textbox is highlighted so that I can type in a formula or dimension.

5. The general dimension command from the marking menu has not completely disappeared yet and I start typing a new value for the dimension.

6. The general dimension command from the marking menu finally disappears while I am typing the new dimension and the textbox becomes inactive and view behind it becomes active. Now, whatever I type onto the keyboard is sent as a command to Inventor rather than as text to the textbox. It is the same as creating a dimension and then activating the view behind the textbox. This is a problem because it stops perceiving my keyboard inputs as text and starts to view them as command inputs.

This is not limited to the general dimension command. This also happens in any environment where I must enter text after selecting a command.

 

Is there a way to disable the fading of the marking menu after one has right-click dragged to a command? Or is there a way to prevent the textbox from switching activity after the command finishes its fade out animation?

Active Contributor
whiteskulleton
Posts: 46
Registered: ‎03-25-2010
Message 2 of 15 (209 Views)

Re: Marking Menu Fade Problem

01-30-2014 07:49 AM in reply to: whiteskulleton

Well it has been about a year now and still no reply or solution to this issue. Since I last posted this, I have gotten a new workstation with different hardware and put Autodesk Inventor 2014 on it. This marking menu issue is still there which tells me that it is a software issue and not a hardware issue.

 

Let me try to explain the issue differently. You can select commands from the marking menu quickly by right clicking, dragging, and releasing the button without having the whole menu pop up. When you release the mouse button, a command then pops up and slowly fades away. As soon as the fading animation is done the inventor window is then activated and whatever is being typed into another popup window is now being typed into the inventor environment. Inventor now perceives whatever is being typed as a command.

 

Check the photos for an example
Note: You can right click and open the images in a new tab to make them bigger

Step 01.png

Step 02.png

Step 03.png

Step 04.png

 

 

So my question is:

Is there a way to remove the fading animation of a command or reduce the time it takes to fade?

 

Computer specs:

Processor: 2x Intel Xeon X5482 @ 3.2 GHz

Graphics: NVIDIA Quadro FX 3800

Memory: 16GB FB-DDR2 ECC (8x 2GB)

Operating System: Windows 8.1 Pro

Software: Autodesk Product Design Suite Ultimate 2014

Inventor Info:

Autodesk Inventor Professional 2014 64-Bit Edition

Build: 222, Release: 2014 SP1 - Date: Tue 09/17/2013

Active Contributor
whiteskulleton
Posts: 46
Registered: ‎03-25-2010
Message 3 of 15 (162 Views)

Re: Marking Menu Fade Problem

03-23-2014 03:20 PM in reply to: whiteskulleton

Seeing as how nobody has replied, here is a video to help clear things up:

https://drive.google.com/file/d/0B8cZC9JtfQr6SGZ2Q2pfM3FWaUU/edit?usp=sharing

*Expert Elite*
blair
Posts: 3,931
Registered: ‎11-13-2006
Message 4 of 15 (145 Views)

Re: Marking Menu Fade Problem

03-23-2014 09:01 PM in reply to: whiteskulleton

Unless it has something to do with your color scheme for the Windows. You only list SP1 for IV2014, there are a couple of updates for SP1.

Did you find this reply helpful ? If so please use the Accept as Solution or Kudos button below.

IV2015 up1 PDSU / Sim Mech 2015 /
Win7-64
EVGA X79 - Classified, iCore7 3930k 32Gb Quad-Channel
950Gb (2 x 500Gb Sata III SSD RAID0 Adaptec 6805E Controller)
Nvidia GTX-690 Classified - 335.23
SpacePilot Pro 3.17.7, 6.17., 4.11
Active Contributor
whiteskulleton
Posts: 46
Registered: ‎03-25-2010
Message 5 of 15 (119 Views)

Re: Marking Menu Fade Problem

03-25-2014 03:24 PM in reply to: whiteskulleton

I updated Inventor to the update version 3 and nothing changed. I then right clicked on the Inventor icon>properties>Compatibility tab and the "Reduced color mode" checkbox is disabled so I can't edit the color mode. Any other suggestions.

*Expert Elite*
blair
Posts: 3,931
Registered: ‎11-13-2006
Message 6 of 15 (115 Views)

Re: Marking Menu Fade Problem

03-25-2014 04:19 PM in reply to: whiteskulleton
What about your Windows color schemes, are you running standard resolution for you monitor and running something like the Windows Default color scheme. The video you posted showed some odd colors on your menu bars. I would also check that you are current on the lasts Microsoft Certified graphics card drivers for your system. In the Inventor Applications>Hardware Options, try either Performance, Quality or Compatibility settings.
Did you find this reply helpful ? If so please use the Accept as Solution or Kudos button below.

IV2015 up1 PDSU / Sim Mech 2015 /
Win7-64
EVGA X79 - Classified, iCore7 3930k 32Gb Quad-Channel
950Gb (2 x 500Gb Sata III SSD RAID0 Adaptec 6805E Controller)
Nvidia GTX-690 Classified - 335.23
SpacePilot Pro 3.17.7, 6.17., 4.11
Active Contributor
whiteskulleton
Posts: 46
Registered: ‎03-25-2010
Message 7 of 15 (101 Views)

Re: Marking Menu Fade Problem

03-26-2014 03:17 PM in reply to: blair

I am running windows 8.1 Pro and there doesn't seem to be a color scheme feature.

 

Windows Settings.png

 

The color button only changes the color of the of the bars. There is nothing like a windows aero scheme like there was in windows 7. I tried the different themes and there was no difference.

 

I tried messing around with the hardware options but there was no difference in that either. I usually leave it on the quality setting.

I also downloaded the most current driver (332.76) for the FX 3800 and that made no difference as well.

*Expert Elite*
blair
Posts: 3,931
Registered: ‎11-13-2006
Message 8 of 15 (97 Views)

Re: Marking Menu Fade Problem

03-26-2014 03:27 PM in reply to: whiteskulleton
Make sure you have all the SP's and Updates for Inventor. This may help, other than that, just wait for further Updates from ADSK. You should be on SP1 Update 3 for IV2014 and Update 3 for IN2013 SP 2
Did you find this reply helpful ? If so please use the Accept as Solution or Kudos button below.

IV2015 up1 PDSU / Sim Mech 2015 /
Win7-64
EVGA X79 - Classified, iCore7 3930k 32Gb Quad-Channel
950Gb (2 x 500Gb Sata III SSD RAID0 Adaptec 6805E Controller)
Nvidia GTX-690 Classified - 335.23
SpacePilot Pro 3.17.7, 6.17., 4.11
Active Contributor
whiteskulleton
Posts: 46
Registered: ‎03-25-2010
Message 9 of 15 (93 Views)

Re: Marking Menu Fade Problem

03-26-2014 05:47 PM in reply to: blair

I do have all the updates. Is this problem happening to you? What does it look like when you do it?

*Expert Elite*
blair
Posts: 3,931
Registered: ‎11-13-2006
Message 10 of 15 (87 Views)

Re: Marking Menu Fade Problem

03-26-2014 09:40 PM in reply to: whiteskulleton

I don't have this problem, I'm also on a different O/S and I switched a number of years ago from Quadro cards to Nvidia GTX cards. Back in IV11 they added D3D and then moved away from OpenGL in IV2008 completely eliminating the need for OpenGL.

Did you find this reply helpful ? If so please use the Accept as Solution or Kudos button below.

IV2015 up1 PDSU / Sim Mech 2015 /
Win7-64
EVGA X79 - Classified, iCore7 3930k 32Gb Quad-Channel
950Gb (2 x 500Gb Sata III SSD RAID0 Adaptec 6805E Controller)
Nvidia GTX-690 Classified - 335.23
SpacePilot Pro 3.17.7, 6.17., 4.11

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

Ask the Community


Inventor Exchange Apps

Created by the community for the community, Autodesk Exchange Apps for Autodesk Inventor helps you achieve greater speed, accuracy, and automation from concept to manufacturing.

Connect with Inventor

Twitter

Facebook

Blogs

Pinterest

Youtube