Inventor General

Reply
Member
kelaog
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎04-07-2011
Message 1 of 4 (758 Views)
Accepted Solution

Making Variable extrude length automatically

758 Views, 3 Replies
07-15-2011 01:48 PM

Hello all, I work for a crane company and I've been tasked with transforming our 3d library from autocad into inventor using iParts.

 

I have a 2 year engineering diploma(going for my degree in sept) but obviously we didn't learn much (none) about iParts.

 

So here is my question--after a brief intro-- I'm currently designing a sling, typically the length of a sling is designated from the bearing contact areas from one to the other. I want to drop an assembly into a drawing and have the eye length variable (easy enough) from the other end (easy enough) I want to space them apart using the rope_length variable (easy enough) and then have the wire between the two automatically generated (this is tricky)

 

I'm not exactly how to have the rope (in blue) extrude to the next surface (opposing ferule). Currently the assembly consits of the sling eye with data extracted from a table, and another instance of the same sling eye so that you can change them. But as soon as I change the distance the rope becomes too short and looks like shown. I want the rope distance to automatically extend as soon as the sling eyes move farther apart from each other.

 

Let me know if you can help,

 

Regards,

 

Andrew.

 

PS: has anyone found out how to get around the tangent offset constraint not working in 2012??? :smileysad:

Member
kelaog
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎04-07-2011
Message 2 of 4 (749 Views)

Re: Making Variable extrude length automatically

07-15-2011 02:22 PM in reply to: kelaog

Let me clarify,

 

I have imates on the wire part. When I place the part I want the length of the extrusion to be determined by the insert imates....

Member
kelaog
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎04-07-2011
Message 3 of 4 (734 Views)

Re: Making Variable extrude length automatically

07-15-2011 03:49 PM in reply to: kelaog

I figured it out using VBA. I guess I'll have to learn more about it. The only thing I want it to do better is update the model faster to reflect the changes.

 

http://wikihelp.autodesk.com/Inventor/enu/2012/Help/2144-Tutorial2144/2145-Inventor2145/2345-iLogic_...

*Expert Elite*
PaulMunford
Posts: 891
Registered: ‎11-13-2006
Message 4 of 4 (689 Views)

Re: Making Variable extrude length automatically

07-18-2011 03:09 AM in reply to: kelaog

You could look into using Skeletal modelling or Master part modeling, or use an adaptive component.

 

I put this post together on the different techniques. It's aimed at woodworkers, but I'm sure that you will be able to find wwhat you need.

 

http://cadsetterout.com/inventor-tutorials/assembly-techniques-for-woodworkers/

 

Finally, if this doesn't suit you could also use iLogic as an alternative to VBA.

The CAD Setter Out Blog @CadSetterOut

Inventor Surfacing | AutoCAD | CAD Standards
 
Please use the Mark Solutions! Accept as Solution or Give Kudos! Kudos functions - Thank you!

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

Ask the Community


Inventor Exchange Apps

Created by the community for the community, Autodesk Exchange Apps for Autodesk Inventor helps you achieve greater speed, accuracy, and automation from concept to manufacturing.

Connect with Inventor

Twitter

Facebook

Blogs

Pinterest

Youtube