Inventor General

Reply
Member
szymon86
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎01-16-2013
Message 1 of 9 (6,087 Views)
Accepted Solution

Make part from split

6087 Views, 8 Replies
01-16-2013 09:35 AM

See what happens if i make a part after a split has taken place. This thing is driving me crazy. Misplaced part? How it's possible? How to correct it, or how to prevent it from happening?

 

Thanks in advance.

Federica

 

 

*Expert Elite*
LT.Rusty
Posts: 692
Registered: ‎10-23-2012
Message 2 of 9 (6,082 Views)

Re: Make part from split

01-16-2013 09:39 AM in reply to: szymon86

Attach your part, and we'll take a look at it. 


___________________________________________________________

Product Design Suite Ultimate 2013, 2014, 2015

Work: Dell Precision T1600 (Xeon E3-1280 / 16GB / 512 GB SSD / 250 GB (Internal) / 1 TB (External) / Quadro 600)
Home: i7-4770k / ASUS Z87-Pro / 16GB / 250 GB SSD / 1 TB HDD / 3 TB USB3 HDD / Radeon R9-270X 4GB
Laptop: Toshiba Satellite P755-S5269 (i7-2630QM / 8 GB / 250 GB SSD / 750 GB HDD / GT540M)

Member
szymon86
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎01-16-2013
Message 3 of 9 (6,067 Views)

Re: Make part from split

01-16-2013 10:14 AM in reply to: LT.Rusty

Thanks.

*Expert Elite*
LT.Rusty
Posts: 692
Registered: ‎10-23-2012
Message 4 of 9 (6,058 Views)

Re: Make part from split

01-16-2013 10:28 AM in reply to: szymon86

The problem is the orientation of the original part. 

 

If you look at tasti.ipt, you'll notice that when you hit the home button on the view cube, you're set with the Z axis as up and the hole through the part is oriented along the Y axis.  When you use Make Part, the new part that's created is oriented in the same fashion, but because the Home View hasn't been modified, the orientation looks a little strange.

 

Basically, the program is working exactly the way it's supposed to. 


___________________________________________________________

Product Design Suite Ultimate 2013, 2014, 2015

Work: Dell Precision T1600 (Xeon E3-1280 / 16GB / 512 GB SSD / 250 GB (Internal) / 1 TB (External) / Quadro 600)
Home: i7-4770k / ASUS Z87-Pro / 16GB / 250 GB SSD / 1 TB HDD / 3 TB USB3 HDD / Radeon R9-270X 4GB
Laptop: Toshiba Satellite P755-S5269 (i7-2630QM / 8 GB / 250 GB SSD / 750 GB HDD / GT540M)

Member
szymon86
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎01-16-2013
Message 5 of 9 (6,049 Views)

Re: Make part from split

01-16-2013 10:49 AM in reply to: LT.Rusty

The y anz axes switch when when i click make part. Can i solve it with a mirror?

 

How can i make it stand where i need it? Something like an in place cut.

*Expert Elite*
LT.Rusty
Posts: 692
Registered: ‎10-23-2012
Message 6 of 9 (6,043 Views)

Re: Make part from split

01-16-2013 11:00 AM in reply to: szymon86

No, a mirror isn't going to fix it.

 

The axes haven't changed at all, only the relationship between the axes and the view cube's "home"
 orientation has changed between your original part and your derived part.  The UCS that you're seeing in your assembly is that of the assembly, not the part.

 

 

assembly.JPG

 

made part.JPGoriginal.JPG


___________________________________________________________

Product Design Suite Ultimate 2013, 2014, 2015

Work: Dell Precision T1600 (Xeon E3-1280 / 16GB / 512 GB SSD / 250 GB (Internal) / 1 TB (External) / Quadro 600)
Home: i7-4770k / ASUS Z87-Pro / 16GB / 250 GB SSD / 1 TB HDD / 3 TB USB3 HDD / Radeon R9-270X 4GB
Laptop: Toshiba Satellite P755-S5269 (i7-2630QM / 8 GB / 250 GB SSD / 750 GB HDD / GT540M)

Member
szymon86
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎01-16-2013
Message 7 of 9 (6,037 Views)

Re: Make part from split

01-16-2013 11:27 AM in reply to: LT.Rusty

So, there's no way to solve this kind of problems?

*Expert Elite*
LT.Rusty
Posts: 692
Registered: ‎10-23-2012
Message 8 of 9 (6,035 Views)

Re: Make part from split

01-16-2013 11:30 AM in reply to: szymon86

There's a few solutions.

 

1.  Make sure you model all your parts with the same "up" orientation.  In this case if you wanted the flange-thingy to face "up" and the axis of the hole to be on the Z-axis, it would have been easiest to model it in that orientation in the first place.

 

2. In the derived part, use MOVE BODY to force the alignment you want.

 

3.  In the assembly, just use constraints to put the part where you want it to go.  That's probably the easiest course for you to take at this stage, unless you feel like re-modeling the part. 

 

I use #3 constantly, because for some reason my boss uses Z as "up" where everyone else uses "Y."  I have to re-align his parts constantly for insertion in my assemblies.


___________________________________________________________

Product Design Suite Ultimate 2013, 2014, 2015

Work: Dell Precision T1600 (Xeon E3-1280 / 16GB / 512 GB SSD / 250 GB (Internal) / 1 TB (External) / Quadro 600)
Home: i7-4770k / ASUS Z87-Pro / 16GB / 250 GB SSD / 1 TB HDD / 3 TB USB3 HDD / Radeon R9-270X 4GB
Laptop: Toshiba Satellite P755-S5269 (i7-2630QM / 8 GB / 250 GB SSD / 750 GB HDD / GT540M)

Member
szymon86
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎01-16-2013
Message 9 of 9 (6,028 Views)

Re: Make part from split

01-16-2013 11:44 AM in reply to: LT.Rusty

Really thanks Rusty for helping me getting out of this trouble. I used the option number 3 and i well assembled the parts together.

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

Ask the Community


Inventor Exchange Apps

Created by the community for the community, Autodesk Exchange Apps for Autodesk Inventor helps you achieve greater speed, accuracy, and automation from concept to manufacturing.

Connect with Inventor

Twitter

Facebook

Blogs

Pinterest

Youtube